(Male, Age 29) from Newport, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 29 who works as a Associate in Newport, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Associate
Salary $20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 34
Company Size (not answered)
Location Newport, NY
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a liquor store. We sell wines and liquors

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Stock shelves, clean, wait on customers, close 6 nights a week

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with others on a daily basis and I don’t care too much for it. Robbery is of a great concern to me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is in a little building on the side of a very busy highway.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 8
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Sleeping Tuesday 9-15
8am to 9am Sleeping
9am to 10am Got up at 9:30 and drank coffee
10am to 11am Started mowing. I mow a trailer park twice a month for two hundred dollars each time.
11am to 12pm Mowing
12pm to 1pm Mowing
1pm to 2pm mowing and weedeating
2pm to 3pm 2:30 stopped and came in to shower
3pm to 4pm 3:40 left for work
4pm to 5pm Took over the register at 4. Waited on customers and started stocking.
5pm to 6pm Busy time pretty much just waited on customers
6pm to 7pm Things started slowing down around 6:30 I was able to go back and stock all the things I had sold and get some more out of the back room.
7pm to 8pm Kept running stock out. On tuesdays we have to get as much out as possible in order to give our distributors a clear idea of what we need brought in.
8pm to 9pm At eight I took out the trash and started cleaning everything up at 830 I vacuum the store and stock the coolers we close at nine monday through thursday and then at 10 friday and saturday. By nine everything is done.
9pm to 10pm Closed down the store and did my paperwork. Which is easy ten minutes and I am out of there. Then I drive home and goof around on the pc until it is way too late and then I go to bed.
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My aunt or something by marriage was buying her daily liquor supply and overheard the boss talking about firing some kid for stealing.

What was the application process?
I litterally wrote down my name, number, and three job references

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview was pretty much when I went in and asked about the job. The owner was working and I talked to her right then. I basically told her that I don’t give shit out for free, I don’t steal, and I don’t call in.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
None really i guess I sort of led the interview. (not to sound conceited) I just told her what I worte in the previous paragraph.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Three days of being babysitted. I could run the register long before i started working there. I have been a register jockey before. They are all pretty much the same. Once they figured out that I had it they left me be.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. It really doesn’t take much education to do simple math and push buttons

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be honest. I got the job because the owner had a problem with thieves and I am not one.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills pretty much. Any monkey can push a few buttons but the people make it challenging sometimes.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t steal, don’t give anyone free booze, and card everybody.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no. It is a BS job

What are your current career goals?
Own my own business and work myself into an early grave.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a job. It pays my bills and provides food for my family. I go because of that and nothing else.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Plant manager 40640 40732 Cut, mark, seal, and sew tarps for semis, boats, and various other covers
Prior Job 2 associate 40639 40701 Run a register, clean, stock, and take car of the money

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.