Receptionist (Female, Age 22) in Elmont, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Receptionist in Elmont, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$19,200
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationElmont, NY
Years Experience3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a law firm that specializes in Real Estate Closings. More specifically, they represent the banks or lenders during closings. The company is small and houses about 7 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer incoming calls and direct accordingly, Take detail messsages, Distribute incoming mail, prepare packages and letters for shippment, data entry, and clerical work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel underpaid.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job entails working with others on a daily basis and this is something that I like because I get to meet and speak to interesting people on a daily basis.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small intimate office comprised of 6 people. What I like about this office is that it is very modernize, upscale, classy, comfortable, and clean. There is nothing that I dislike about it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amStart work at 9:30 am today.Assisted paralegal with making phone calls to clients. Had to make a very important phone call. Advised client that lawyer was going to be late. Client was not happy however, I assured her that the lawywer would arrive shortly. Client felt relieved after I assured.
9am to 10amDocuments came late for our 10:00am closing in the office with another lawyer. Had to help the paralegal out to get the documents ready for closing.
10am to 11amAnswered incoming calls and directed accordingly. Wrote some detail messages about post closing files (closed files).
11am to 12pmSpent most of my time answering the phones. That is, answering general questions, and directing calls accordingly.
12pm to 1pmOff to Lunch for 1 hour
1pm to 2pmClerical work. More photocopying peformed. Helping paralegal with work, she’s backed up. Things need to get done office is pressed for time.
2pm to 3pmThe evening receptionist comes to relive me at 2pm. I am gone for the day.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through networking with a friend.

What was the application process?
Phone interview and resume submittal.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, just a brief phone interview with the Office Manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Tell me a little bit more about your work experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, alot of things were thrown at me. With that said, this position required someone who is self starter, adaptble, and able to learn quickly.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, not really. This is position is basically a self starting position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Off course.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, my internship played an pivtol role in my professional development.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would advise them to network with a receptionist so they can gain insight. Also, I would tell them to research the position, find out what in entails, and see if its a fit for them.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to be personable, outgoing, upbeat, energetic, customer service oriented, good communication skills, speaks clearly, able to write legibly, well spoken, and respectful.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, at least a high school diploma.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Never, be afraid to ask questions if you don’t understand. Make sure, you enjoy what you are doing or else you will not be happy. Learn as much as you can, and take advantage of training if you are going into the position blind. Always be in tuned with your feelings and moods because it can affect your work greatly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, its just employment until I find the right opportunity.

What are your current career goals?
To pursue a career in Human Resources and to obtain my Masters Degree.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Jr Recruiter3 months0sourcing, prescreening, reference checks, I9 Verification, and filing.
Prior Job 2Receptionist3 months10.5Meeting and greeting customers, answering a multi line switchboard, and customer service.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Rutgers UniversityBA Labor Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.