Cashier (Female, Age 39) in Hayden, ID

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Cashier in Hayden, ID. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCashier
Salary$19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHayden, ID
Years Experience3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It one of the biggest retailers in the whole country,it provides grocery,Pharmacy,softlines and hardline products. They employ many people and are always building new businesses. They also give to many charities and always helping out the community.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work as a cashier, ringing customers up for their purchases but I also work as a stocker ,stocking many departments within the store and also in receiving. These shifts are the graveyard shift as well.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Employee discount,vacation,sick,401k,health

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I believe I’m compensated very well but more could always be nicer

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I constantly work with others, we all work together as a team. Working by yourself is not always fun but having someone else there to help you when you need it is always nice to have

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My location is a warehouse type setting,for this particular it is,its clean,well maintained and a god enviroment

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amJust getting off of work and driving home
8am to 9amHaving Breakfast,possibly sleeping
9am to 10amsleeping
10am to 11amsleeping
11am to 12pmsleeping
12pm to 1pmsleeping
1pm to 2pmsleeping
2pm to 3pmsleeping
3pm to 4pmsleeping
4pm to 5pmsleeping
5pm to 6pmsleeping
6pm to 7pmsleeping,waking up
7pm to 8pmhaving dinner and getting ready for work
8pm to 9pmrelaxing befor work,making lucnch for that night
9pm to 10pmDriving to work,work starts at 10pm
10pm to 11pmChecking with schedule to see if I’m working the register or stocking for the night,starting that position
11pm to 12amStill doing cashiering or stocking,first break at 1200am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Saw a ad on the side of a store they were in the process of building and word of mouth

What was the application process?
Applied online with resume, had 3 interviews and the accepted job

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes,they asked questions pertaining to customer service and your experiences with that,other job skills,work history. I had a total of 3 interviews, the first 2 were with Assistant Managers and the last with the Store Manager who offered the job

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How did I deal with difficult customers? What is my definition of customer service? What experiences do I have?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and no, because alot of the front end training was just to go for it and learn it on your own, we didn’t have much practice till the store opened.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was training on the new registers,we now use a touch screen instead of just buttons on a keyboard but as far as everything else, I had already knew because of my work backround

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no,they knew I have more than just a high school education but it didn’t make a difference in the hiring

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go the website and apply online, after doing so they can call HR to inquire about the postion they applied for.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are good because they need to be able to get along with others,responsibility-they need to be at work on time and be here when scheduled,the williness to work-we work hard at our job and this person must be willing to do what management asks and when

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least a high school diploma,someone that has worked before could benefit themas well

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Show up on time,just show up,work safely,stretch,listen to what others tell you about the job you are doing,do the job you are asked to do

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes,because I can go back to school and they will help pay for it as long as I take something that has to with my job,as I want to do Pharmacy Tech and they have Pharmacies in all their stores

What are your current career goals?
Get more experience about the company I work for,more experience in all the departments

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Barista213000Made coffee,tea and espresso beverages,served pastries,rang sales on register,stock,cleaned,prep
Prior Job 2Deli Outfitter1.515000Made cold and hot deli sandwiches,grilledstaeks and burgers,used the deep fryer,stocked,clean,prep

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4ApolloMedical Coding And Billing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.