Help Desk (Male, Age 19) in fairfax, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 19 who works as a Help Desk in fairfax, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHelp Desk
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
Locationfairfax, VA
Years Experience3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Actix develops software for cell phone towers, as a for profit company. It has many offices world wide, and contracts with all major cell phone carriers

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I support everyone in the office if they have any technical issues

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
n/a

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compinsated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i interact with others on a daily basis, and i like it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
love the location, in a nice office building, free food

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
from a staffing agency

What was the application process?
submit resume and cover letter online to agency. Agency interviewed me, then i got interviewed by place i work

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, two interviews. One with staffing agency, one with actix (hr manager and IT supervisor)

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Where do you go to school?

What to do if some one says the network is down?

How to troubleshoot a server issue?

are you motivated?

reliable transportation?

hours able to work

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
not really, i just got trained on how the office works. Such as where things are and peoples names. I needed to know the technical knowledge already

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, i gathered all the knowledge online over the years because of my self interest

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
be enrolled in school and have a great amount of confidence in the interview

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be able to interact with people in a non-technical manner, dumb things down, but in a nice way. Do no be an outcast, you must be able to make friends at the office.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
you need some technical knowledge, you can do it without an education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be motivated.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i plan on going into the IT field

What are your current career goals?
to own my own IT security business

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
its awesome

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office clerk3 months25000i did paperwork all day
Prior Job 2computer expert1 year25000i sold computers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3George mason univIT Security
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.