Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 37) from brookline, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 37 who works as a Administrative Assistant in brookline, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location brookline, MA
Years Experience 3 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Company is less than 50 people. Would rather not mention the name. It is a publishing company that informs business people about any new business information.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Ranges from phone coverage to proofreading.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
don’t have benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I enjoy working with people most of the time. I just don’t enjoy when people like to create problems.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is close to everything. Downtown Boston

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submit application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes group interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
An important question I think is any plans in the immediate future meaning 2-3 years?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, had some business classes ina private business school and a ton of on the job training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Not sure how to answer this question.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A good knowledge of technical skills w/ computers.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, I would like to have more classes w/ computers

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, but would rather like more projects

What are your current career goals?
next 2 to 3 years work as an admin. and build upon my resume and experience then have money to take care of personal things.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
yes, the politics can be the worst part.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Customer Service Rep. 10 months salary processing orders etc.
Prior Job 2 Administrative Assistant 10 months 12. – 15. all kinds of administrative tasks.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 U-mass Boston Labor Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.