Hotel Engineering (Male, Age 23) in arlington, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 23 who works as a Hotel Engineering in arlington, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHotel Engineering
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
Locationarlington, TX
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
it is a pretty big hotel where there are 100+ workers

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
my duties are replace anything that is broken and fix anything that needs repairing wether that be a computer or a heater

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
sick leave and no benefits

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i work with others who are in my title. It’s something pleasant and challenging

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI’m on a long commute to work during this time.
8am to 9amThis is the time that I clock in and look at my list of ‘to do’s and get started on my work
9am to 10amThere are usually people from the hotel asking to take them to a nearby restaurant for breakfast at this time or im helping carry luggage to rooms.
10am to 11amThis is my lunch time and where I usually call my wife.
11am to 12pmI’m usually programming computers at this time and helping people at the front desk
12pm to 1pmThis is where im doing work related to maintenance like clean the pool and inspect rooms and look for repairs
1pm to 2pmAt this time I’m just looking around for more projects to work on
2pm to 3pmAt this time I’m getting ready to head home to my family and my one year old baby!
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a family member

What was the application process?
I did all of them plus they interviewed me.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes see above. I interviewed with a supervisor and it was a total of two interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
there were a few that really stood out like have you ever been in the military and asking about my previous employer

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes he told me what to expect and what not to expect

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. I needed to take tours of the hotel to understand what I needed to do

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Sort of. When I was in the Navy I worked with computers a lot

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I was never an intern at my present job.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I recommend them applying and knowing handy jobs such as fixing anything from sinks to computers

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
very well social skills because you work with the people staying in the hotel and advanced technical skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no I went to college but you do need training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would advise them that it is very hard to work your way up

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
You can definetly say that. Computers are my passion

What are your current career goals?
I want to work with computers. Either ad design or cad

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I’m really passionate about it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Technician2 years600
Prior Job 24 years

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)