Mental Health Liaison (Female, Age 33) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Mental Health Liaison in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMental Health Liaison
Salary$54,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The Jewish Guild for the Blind is a not-for-profit, non-sectarian agency that serves persons of all ages who are visually impaired,

blind and multidisabled. The Guild offers a broad range of programs that include: medical, vision,

low vision, psychiatric and rehabilitative services, managed long-term care, residential services,

day health programs, schools and educational training programs for independent living.

In addition, The Guild’s radio reading service, InTouch Networks, and SightCare, its vision

care education and training program, address the special needs of thousands of people

nationwide.

Our mission is to assist people who are blind or visually impaired, and who may have additional

disabilities, achieve lives of dignity and independence.

.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I conduct baseline mental health assessments with individuals who have mutiple medical issues as well as mental health issues.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 wks paid vacation, 4 floating holidays. 3 personal days, 403b, your become vested in the Guild’s pension after five years

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, there is a lot of interaction with individuals within my agency as well as outside agencies. I enjoy the interaction due to information that is gained when dealing with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAlarm goes off and it’s time to get up and get ready for work.
8am to 9amLeave the apt and commute to work.
9am to 10amOpen up my computer and dash off to Wed. a.m. disposition meeting. Cases are discussed that have been referred of closed in our mental health clinic. Psychiatrist is present to put in his clinical sense to the case.
10am to 11amGet on the phone and call some patients to complete a mental health assessment.
11am to 12pmWrite up the report of the gentleman that I assessed.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH
1pm to 2pmGet back on the phone and assess another pending member.
2pm to 3pmStill on the phone. This time I’m talking to the daughter of a pending member. Pending member suffers from Alzhemier’s therefor a assessment has to be completed with a family member.
3pm to 4pmWrite up the report of the assessment i completed with pending members daughter.
4pm to 5pmmeet with my supervisor for supervision. Here we go over all the cases that I have assessed. We discuss outcome and recommendations for the individual.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
NYTimes.com

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I intereviewed with someone in our HR Dept. and since I passed that I was then interviewed with the Director of behavior Services. She liked me so then I was then interviewed with our mental health clinic director along with my current supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do you think your are qualified for this job? Do you like going out in the field? Can you write well?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Minimal Training. The job was a work in process. We rolled with the punches and found the best way to do it.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend for them to do some reasearch online at various not for profit sites. Idealist.org, socialservice.com etc

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Passion to help others, understanding of mental illness, patience, organizational skills, people skills etc,,,,,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them that this is a job that does not always allow you to reach your goals even though you’ve worked so hard too. In other words when dealing with other people and their lives it must start from them first… like the saying.. “help me to help you”

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, because this is not where i ever anticipated to be in my career.

What are your current career goals?
Go back to school and work in the Culinary field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This job is not for everyone. There has to be a certain level of passion or a calling to do what I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1mental health liaison3.5 yrs54000Conduct baseline mental health assessments over the phone or at their homes. Testing for depression, anxiety any suicidal or homicidal ideations, alcohol or substance abuse history etc….. this information is then comprised into a report and given to the nurse who is managing the case.
Prior Job 2Forensic Case Manager2.5 yrs38000Case Management to individuals who are SPMI (Severely Persistently Mentally Ill) and have a history of incarceration. Basically once discharged from the legal system to assist them to maintain their mental health and integrate them back into society. Assist them to be law abiding citizens.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8John Jay CollgeBA Forensic Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.