Office Manager (Female, Age 56) in rockaway, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a Office Manager in rockaway, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationrockaway, OR
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The buisness is an optometric clinic.It has only 1 employee (me) and the 1 owner.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer the phone,set up appointments,do the deposits every night, do the billing,adjust glasses when needed,order office supplies when needed,take care of any discrepencies with billing for the patients when needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
n/a

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I’m very well compensated for the work that I do,my boss goes above and beyond to pay me well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job is solely done by me.I’m the only employee in the office

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a sole office and I love it,I can look out my window every day and see what the world is doing.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amJan. 25,2011,I came into the office,started filing,getting paperwork ready for the day to begin at 9am
8am to 9amStarted the coffee for the owner
9am to 10amFirst patient came in,got them started in the computer,made phone calls to insurance company about eligibility, received phone calls from new patients to make appointments.
10am to 11amSecond patient came in,got them started in the computer,received a phone call from a new patient,got them entered in the computer.Made another appointment for the 10am patient for 1 week out.
11am to 12pmThird patient came in,got them started in the computer,entered payments from an insurance company.
12pm to 1pmLeft to go get some lunch,came back to the office and ate my lunch,got paperwork ready for the 1pm patient.
1pm to 2pmFourth patient came in,got them entered in the computer.Entered more insurance payments.Made more appointments for new patients
2pm to 3pmDid paperwork,the fifth patient called and rescheduled.Her children were sick.
3pm to 4pmSixth patient came in,got him entered in computer,set him up with an appointment with a specialist.I helped him select a new frame.
4pm to 5pmThe 4 o’clock patient came in, I got her started in the computer.When ready I helped her select frame.
5pm to 6pmShut down all computers,went home.
6pm to 7pmwent home,made dinner,got on the computer,played games
7pm to 8pmplayed games,watched a little bit of tv
8pm to 9pmplayed games on computer,watched some tv
9pm to 10pmwent to bed
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
The previous office manager

What was the application process?
no application required,just came in part time to help the previous office manager

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no I didn’t

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes,he did a better job of preparing me than the previous office manager.Then when she left I was still left up in the air about what to do.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
none required,except to very willing to learn as you go

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no,I had no educational background for this type of job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I think they should put in a detailed resume,have some experience in the optometry field and be very willing to work hard and learn as you go.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good phone skills,computer,filing and first and for most be a people person.If he/she doesn’t do well with the public this isn’t the job for them.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some, I didn’t have any,but I started pt and I learned as I went

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be very willing to Learn,and listen to your boss and do everything that is required of you.Have a very positive attitude toward your work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I’m not sure if it is,but with my age it looks like it may be.

What are your current career goals?
I don’t have any career goals at this time,I’m too old for a career goal.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s a very enjoyable job and I love it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Manager2 yrsno salaryI was night bartender/manager,I made drinks,ran register,took food orders,delivered orders,cleaned,stocked,lottery
Prior Job 2clerk3 monthsn/aI made food,ran register,stocked,cleaned

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.25

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Kinman Buisnesskey punch
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/an/an/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.