Office Manager (Female, Age 56) in rockaway, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a Office Manager in rockaway, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week80
Company Size(not answered)
Locationrockaway, OR
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
There is only 1 owner and 1 employee,me,the doctor is an optometrist.He does eye exams,emergency eye care, refer patients for cataract surgery when needed.We sell frames,contacts.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I answer phones,make appointments,do the billing,bank deposits,helps adjust glasses when needed,help pick out frames, go to special meetings/conferences

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I don’t have any benefits through my work

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
No I don’t,I’m very well compensated for my work

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I don’t work with anybody else other than the doctor.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office that’s right on the corner of the main highway and I get to see all of the traffic that goes through,wrecks and all

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through the previous office manager

What was the application process?
I didn’t have to submit an application,I just came in and did some part time things

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No I didn’t have to have an interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, the past office manager didn’t prepare me good enough.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no,I didn’t have any training for what I’m doing now,except my typing skills that I kept from my high school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no,because I never had any office background to prepare me for this job,except the people skills that I had from previous jobs

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try to get a job in an office as part time and be trained that way.I started out as part time doing things that the office manager at that time didn’t have time for,then she quit and I was put in the full time position.I worked part time for about 6months

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
People Skills,if a person can’t communicate and get along with the outside world,then they don’t need to be in this type of job.You’re constantly interacting the the public.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no,you just need to be able to learn.I learn something new everyday

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient with the doctor,ask questions,don’t try and handle things if you don’t understand something.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now,even though I would like to get another part time job at nights and weekends back in the restaurant field

What are your current career goals?
To be able to have extra money to set aside for my retirement,and not have to go from pay check to pay check

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
To me this career is a very rewarding one.I have the best boss I’ve ever had,and I’ve had alot of jobs since 1986

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Night manager2yrsI made drinks,food,delivered food,ran register,lottery,interacted with the public constantly,ordered the liquor and beer
Prior Job 2server3 monthswaited on tables,served food,beverages,cleaned tables,ran register

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Kinman BuisnessKey Punch
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.