Assistant Office Manager 

(Female, Age 28) from Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Assistant Office Manager in Brooklyn, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Office Manager
Salary $56,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brooklyn, NY
Years Experience 3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work for a law firm of 35 employees, specializing in Bankruptcy, Litigation, Corporate and Pharmaceutical Law.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for all Human Resource information produced in our firm, I am responsible for the secretarial, records and office services staff. Dealing with absenteeism, coverage, accounts payable/accounts receivable.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental, Vision, 401K, Flex spending, Transitchek

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am under compensated at my current position

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I interact with the staff, attorney and partners on a daily basis, making sure there is coverage for every area of the firm, e.g. copy room, reception, records dept. I interact with the attorneys on a regular basis providing them a daily report of payments received. I love what I do, because I am a people person and I like interacting with people on a daily basis.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Receive a phone call from my boss, letting me know that our building is still open after the steam pipe explosion.
8am to 9am Prepare for work, while receiving another phone call letting me know that the trains are stopping at Grand Central Station, but we just can’t enter on Lexington Avenue. Then call all staff members and let them know that the building is opened for business
9am to 10am Arrive at the office at this point there is no AC in our space, call builing management to find out what the status is and then email the entire firm, letting them know due to the explosion Con Edison has instructed the AC be kept off.
10am to 11am Meet with my office manager to discuss a lunch treat for those employees who decided to come in, inspite of all the comotion in Grand Central Area
11am to 12pm Called various Catering Services in the area to see who was opened and if they would deliver, on a day like July 19th, 2007.
12pm to 1pm Called and placed a pizza lunch order for the entire staff, as a thank you for their efforts. Send an email to staff letting them know to stop by the boardroom at 1:00pm for lunch. Emailed office services to bring sodas, ice, water, cups and plates to the board room.
1pm to 2pm Gathered all the staff into the board room for lunch, told them how much we appreciated their efforts and enjoyed lunch.
2pm to 3pm Met with the managing partner to discuss closing the office early as we were not receiving any AC as of 2:00pm. We decided to close the office at 3:30pm and reception stayed opend until 4:30pm
3pm to 4pm Went around and made sure people were okay and were going to leave ontime.
4pm to 5pm changed the timers on the door to close at 4:30pm instead of 6:00pm when it normally closes, since no one was going to be in the office past 4:30pm.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was referred by someone I worked with at a previous firm.

What was the application process?
All I did to get this job was submitt my resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did have an interview, which just entailed me meeting with my old supervisor from my prior firm, she informed me of the benefits and responsibility and then I met with the managing partner who just wanted to see my disposition.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was just asked if I would be interested in such a position.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No not exactly, I have learned from experience.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No not really, just sat in with my boss a few times and she instructed me of what they needed from me, and that was it.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not at all, though my degree is in Legal Studies, it had nothing to do with my job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To make sure they are someone that is willing to start on the bottom and work there way up, the ladder

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organization skills are very important for a position such as mine, you have to have a method or a way of getting things accomplished.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not at all, although I have a Bachelor’s Degree which I think having a degree helps with the salary, you don’t necessarily need on for this position, experience is more important.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be ontime, confident and always willing to lend a helping hand.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is, I am currently persuing my masters in public administration with a concentration in Human Resources

What are your current career goals?
To be my own boss, make at least a $100,000.00 a year

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Record Clerk 1 yrs 32000 Filing daily incoming documents into the records department
Prior Job 2 Records 2 1/2 yrs. 36000 Filing daily incoming documents into the records dept, creating files and subfolders, interacting with attorneys requesting files

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 John Jay College of Criminal Justice Legal Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
John Jay College of Criminal Justice Pursuing Masters in Public Administration

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.