Receptionist (Female, Age 34) in Elyria, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Receptionist in Elyria, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week32
Company Size(not answered)
LocationElyria, OH
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am currently a receptionist/office manager at an orthodontist office.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
answer phones, schedule appointments, fax/copies, pulling/filing charts

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401k, health insurance, 6 days sick/year, 8 days vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I think it’s fair

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
No

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
No

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income:
Benefits:
Hours:
Co-Workers:
Supervisors:
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amnot at work yet
8am to 9amnot at work
9am to 10amget to work, turn on lights,video games, radio. listen to answering machine, take down messages. print schedules. start calling back messages.
10am to 11amscheduling appointments, filing charts, answering phone
11am to 12pmscheduling appointments, answering phones, greeting patients when they come in.
12pm to 1pmscheduling, copying letters that need to go out.
1pm to 2pmlunch
2pm to 3pmlisten to messages on answering machines, calling back messages. scheduling appts. answer phones
3pm to 4pmmove up any appts if there’s any cancellations, scheduling, answering phones.
4pm to 5pmreally busy at end of day. scheduling, answering phones. filing charts. sending postcards to patients who missed appointments.
5pm to 6pmstill busy, scheduling, answering phones. turn off lights, video games, radio. turn on answering machine. file all remaining charts
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume, 2 interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had 2 interviews. both with doctor I work for, the previous receptionist, and other front office employee.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
don’t really remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was kind of thrown into position, I was actually second choice for position so I didn’t have the previous receptionist training me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had previous dental experience, but not actually office position. I have had some office experience in the past but not that recently.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, not really, but it’s not that hard of a job to do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
have a good resume. be confident, and friendly

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
computer, phone, customer oriented.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
not really

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be patient, it’s alot to learn at first. Be friendly and outgoing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not really sure what my “career plan” is, but i’m very comfortable with my position.

What are your current career goals?
Not really sure right now. I’m comfortable where i’m at.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I like working in an office, the hours are pretty good. I’m off on weekends and my employer is great, he makes it a great place to work.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1hr asst/ cust svc.1 year11.20 hrhr assistant, I hired seasonal employees for x-mas season. ran background checks was responsible for all employee paperwork to be properly filled out and submitted. After season stayed on as customer service employee.
Prior Job 2dental assistant2 years12.00 hr.assisting with dental procedures, x-rays, setting up for procedures. sterilizing instruments.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.