Administrative Assistant (Female, Age 23) in Brea, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Brea, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAdministrative Assistant
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrea, CA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We are a small urban planning and design firm.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do bookkeeping, marketing, and general administrative work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I don’t have any benefits.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with my co-workers. I help them with some of the marketing materials we handle. I like this about my job working with my co-workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office in downtown. I dislike how I have to pay for parking.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI am not at work at this time.
8am to 9amI am not at work at this time.
9am to 10amI begin my work by turning on my computer. Then I drop my lunch off in the refrigerator and clean the coffee maker. Then I make the coffee and check my emails. Then, when the coffee is ready, I pour my self a cup and respond to the emails and answer phone calls.
10am to 11amI am filing papers and looking at bills. If I see a bill that needs to be paid, I will make the payment. I will see what is due and do it at this time. Then I will mail the bills.
11am to 12pmI will be making phone calls to set up appointments or meetings. I would be answering phone calls. I will be researching for potential clients. I would be researching for supplies our office needs.
12pm to 1pmI will be taking my 1 hour lunch break.
1pm to 2pmI will be checking my emails. Then I would return e-mails and phone calls. Then I would make coffee for the afternoon and check if we have enough supplies in the kitchen. If we don’t have anymore milk, sugar, cream, etc., I would go out and buy some.
2pm to 3pmI would be at the store gathering supplies for the office. I will put the supplies away in the cabinets. Then I would check the mail. Then I would open all the mail and sort them.
3pm to 4pmI would be reading through the mail to see if there are any bills. If there are bills, then I would put them in a pile. Then I will write the checks in QuickBooks, but will print them out when they are to be mailed.
4pm to 5pmI would be cleaning up the office and answering phone calls. I would be doing some more research about clients. I would also learn about their current projects.
5pm to 6pmI would be answering calls and preparing what needs to be done for the next day. I would set up reminders for myself tomorrow so I will know what to do for the next day. I would also do some final clean up and get ready to leave work.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found it through a referral from a friend.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, only one individual interview with the two partners.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
They asked general questions about my skills and why I wanted to work at their firm.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I feel my employer properly prepared me for this job because someone trained me for 2 days.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there was training. It was how they worked in the office and how to use their software like Quickbooks.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I don’t think my educational background prepared me for this job. This is an administrative position and I think personal experience is what prepared me.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that person to utilize their social networks.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
General administrative skills, good organizational and social skills, and to be experienced with popular software like Microsoft Office and Windows.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell them to be open to learn anything because you will be able to use that experience or skill in the future.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I want to be in a financial/administrative position, and I am currently doing both.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goal is to own my own company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My career is very relaxed and everyone is willing to help you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Web Consultant3.5 yrs20000I helped clients maintain and designed websites. I also did all of the administrative duties the job included.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6UCRB.S. Business Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.