Cna/Phlebotomist (Female, Age 25) in OCALA, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Cna/Phlebotomist in OCALA, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCna/Phlebotomist
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOCALA, FL
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an retirement home. We are a locally owned and there are about 150 people employeed at this facility. I recently got certified in Phlebotomy and not along with my CNA work I also take our patients blood.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I get patients up in the morning and ready for breakfast. The ones that are not able to go to the dining area I feed in their room. Then I give them a shower and then I put them back into bed. Then I check to see if there are any lab orders for me to draw and if so then I go do that.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Heath, 401k, Dental, Paid Vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I do have to work with others and I love it. I am a people person and I love interacting with all sorts of people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at a retirement home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amUp and getting kids ready for daycare. Making breakfast.
8am to 9amOff to take kids to daycare and then at work by 9
9am to 10amClock in and than I am off to get patients out of bed and to the dining area, Then the patients that are not able to go to the dining area I am feeding in theor beds.
10am to 11amI am giving patients their morning shower and meds if needed.
11am to 12pmPatients are all back in bed and it is time for my lunch break. Will be back at 12
12pm to 1pmBack at work and I am getting the patients up fpr lunch. As with morning the patients that are not able to go to dining area I am feeding in their beds.
1pm to 2pmTaking blood pressure of my patients. And giving any meds if necessary
2pm to 3pmQuiet time at the facility. I am now taking my break inside the facility in case any patients need help or such.
3pm to 4pmChecking on patients.
4pm to 5pmDinner time. As with morning and lunch I am taking some to dining area while feeding others in their room.
5pm to 6pmRelaxing a bit before I am off.
6pm to 7pmAt 6 I am off to pick up my girls and head home to cook dinner and get everyone ready for bed.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Paper application and then they called me in for an interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was 1 interview. They asked me questions about if I took the state test and passed. How well I get along with others. There was 1 person interviewing me, she was the head rn.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Some. I was asked if I completed the state test. Where I went to school. If I had any experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I already knew what to expect but on my interview they took me around the facility to show me where I would be working and such.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No. I just went to school. For a Phlebotomist I had to have at least 30 live sticks.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I went to school specifically for this. Plus in school we did training at a retirement home. Also I trained handson to be a phlebotomist.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend them go to school and get your cna certificate. And then it shouldn’t be too hard to get a job there after. There are alot of CNA jobs out there.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think that you must be a people person. Since in this field you are always dealing one on one with people. Plus you have to go to school so that you will have knowledge in order to take blood pressure and assist the patients correctly. ALso if you wanted to get your Phlebotomy certification that is a plus. But you do have to go to school to get that also.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is great. And you do get good benefits. Healthcare is always a great area to get involved in because they are always hiring. They have very flexable schedules also and most places are willing to work around your schedule.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I always wanted to work in the health industry

What are your current career goals?
To possibly go back to school and get my RN

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Have I mentioned that I love my job??? 🙂

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Administrative assistant2 years30000Data entry, Appointment scheduler
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/aAdult education centerCNA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.