Office Clerk 2 (Female, Age 49) in Rochester, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Office Clerk 2 in Rochester, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Clerk 2
Salary$35,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRochester, NY
Years Experience27 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Monroe County, has about 4000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist 4 purchasing buyers who purchase all goods/services for every County dept. I do all their clerical work.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
8 weeks vacation, up to almost 6 mos. of sick time, pension plan available at age 55 with 30 yrs. of employment, Blue Point 2 Select health care

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
the benefits cannot be beat, the pay is not the greatest but by clerical standards I guess it’s around average salary

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with others & everyone gets along great, it’s a nice, easy, laid back office.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the County Office Bldg. in downtown Rochester, NY, it is a lovely old bldg.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amstill home
8am to 9amstill home
9am to 10ampreparing bid openings for the day
10am to 11amgeneral clerical work
11am to 12pmopening bids
12pm to 1pmaftermath of bids, clerical work
1pm to 2pmlunch
2pm to 3pmbid openings
3pm to 4pmaftermath of bids, clerical work
4pm to 5pmgeneral clerical work
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
kept an eye on job postings for the County

What was the application process?
submitted paper application to take exam

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I interviewed with the supervisor of the Personnel dept. at that time, one on one.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember as it was in Sept. 1985!

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I had good supervisors who showed me the ropes & took me under their wings.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
you just needed a high school diploma at the time & to be able to type

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I took clerical courses in high school, like typing, so I was prepared for all the typing the job involved at that time on an electric typewriter, now on a computer of course.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they have to take a civil service exam & score in the top 3.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills in person & on the phone, because you have to deal with contractors & other County personnel

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, a college degree would help

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
absorb as much knowledge as you can from coworkers who have been there a long time

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I thought I would do something pertaining to the degree I have but at this stage of the game I am happy where I am & looking forward to retiring.

What are your current career goals?
At this point to just get my time in & be able to retire as planned.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1clerk 313 mos.can’t rememberI was a legal secretary to the lawyers in that dept.
Prior Job 2clerk typist3 1/2 yrs.can’t rememberI approved/disapproved civil service applicants & administered civil service exams to the public, answered phones, general clerical work such as typing letters & business correspondence.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:can’t remember

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4bryant & strattonbusiness administration/management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.