Lpn (Female, Age 46) in Krebs, OK

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Lpn in Krebs, OK. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLpn
Salary$32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationKrebs, OK
Years Experience27 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
hospital

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
administer medicine, take blood pressure, dress wounds

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, vacation, sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
underpaid!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with patients and other nurses and love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
hospital

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI pass medications to all my residents between 7 and 8 and I take room trays for breakfast to those who cant come to the dining room.
8am to 9amNote orders from doctors appointments, pass pills, chart that I gave the medications.
9am to 10ampass meds
10am to 11amdo treatments, pass meds, note orders
11am to 12pmget residents ready for lunch
12pm to 1pmmy lunch break for 30 minutes then I pass noon pills
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pmoff work, I go shopping or pay bills then go home to take care of my animals.
4pm to 5pmget ready to fix supper.
5pm to 6pmeat dinnerwith my 2 kids.
6pm to 7pmsit down to watch the news then iron my uniforms for the next day.
7pm to 8pmwatch tv.
8pm to 9pmwatch tv.
9pm to 10pmwatch tv.
10pm to 11pmasleep
11pm to 12amasleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submit an application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview and all they did was talk to me and say I was well qualifide for the job and hired me on the spot

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what was my last job, how long had I been a nurse

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, I was already trained

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, one year of LPN school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I learned everything i needed to in school

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
dont settle for being an LPN, go on to get your RN degree for more pay.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
compassion and the want to help other people

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
dont lose sight of your compassion and caring

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes I always wanted to be a nurse.Since age 12 when I started out as a candy striper.

What are your current career goals?
I am already an established nurse. I have always been in nursing.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nursing is a rewarding career but the pay could be alot better

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1LPN22 years29, 000nurse
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.92

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
KAVTLPN
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.