Heavy Equipment Operator 

(Male, Age 52) from bayville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 52 who works as a Heavy Equipment Operator in bayville, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Heavy Equipment Operator
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location bayville, NY
Years Experience 26 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a public works dept for a township

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee the yard, run heavy equipment, deal with any problems

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical sick time, retiremnet

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work alone but do interact with others

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work outdoors at public works. I like to be outdoors

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrive at work at 6.30, clock in, check with supervisor to see if anything is new
8am to 9am work in my machine
9am to 10am same load trucks with dirt or fill,
10am to 11am work in resivor
11am to 12pm same
12pm to 1pm eat lunch in loader
1pm to 2pm continue to work in yard
2pm to 3pm finish work for day
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I just applied 26 years ago

What was the application process?
I honestly don’t remember

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none I was hired based on my application

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was trained on the job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I trained on the job and got my CDL

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was always able to work with my hands and learned as I went along

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
nothing we had over 30 people laid off last year and morale is very low

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to hava their CDL license and be able to drive all kinds of equipment plus they need to be skilled in all aspects of public works

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
it is hard work and not always rewarding so make sure you really want to do it

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My plan is to retire in a few years and get a part time job elsewere

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no thanks

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 technician 6 10 hour I fixed all electrical equipment
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.