Mechanical Engineer 

(Female, Age 50) from Union Grove, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 50 who works as a Mechanical Engineer in Union Grove, WI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Mechanical Engineer
Salary $100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 50
Company Size (not answered)
Location Union Grove, WI
Years Experience 25 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a major oil company in the midwest and work hand in hand with a major diesel engine manufacturer. There are several thousand employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee the production and running of oils on diesel engines and determin any running problems.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
company car, health, dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I travel quite frequently and enjoy that aspect of it. I don’t like when I have to sit in my office all day, I would much rather be out amongst the people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have several work locations, half of my work is done at the home offices the other divided up between several other locations. I enjoy the variety of working with so many other people.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was sent to school by my employer and promoted up.

What was the application process?
Wheew….way back then it was a paper application…imagine that!!

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
For my current position, no I did not have to interview…it was just given to me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Didn’t have one so I don’t have an answer.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have been with the same company for years and was well versed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Of course I had to have a degree and yes, there was tons of on the job training over the years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My high school education no, I had no idea I even had an interest in engineering…not till I got into that department.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes…I had years of internship, alot of my college credits were on the job issued.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school and WORK YOUR BUTT OFF!!!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It took me 25 years to reach my position in the company. I believe you need to have all the skills mentioned…social as you will always be working as a team with people, the more organized you are the easier everyones job will be, technical…that is self explanitory, you have to have it, plain and simple.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, you have to have a masters degree and alot of experience in my field.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard and put forth alot of effort and you will be recognized.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.