Truck Driver 

(Male, Age 58) from racine, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 58 who works as a Truck Driver in racine, WI. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Truck Driver
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location racine, WI
Years Experience 25 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
United parcel Service

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
delivering packages

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
no I work on my own

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work out of the truck

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am leave the house
8am to 9am get to work
9am to 10am drive to the route
10am to 11am deliver packages
11am to 12pm deliver more packages
12pm to 1pm deliver more packages
1pm to 2pm deliver more packages
2pm to 3pm take lunch
3pm to 4pm deliver more packages
4pm to 5pm deliver more packages
5pm to 6pm deliver more packages
6pm to 7pm deliver more packages
7pm to 8pm take truck back to work
8pm to 9pm drive home
9pm to 10pm eat, watch tv
10pm to 11pm go to bed
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
went and applied in person

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to go through 3 interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, driving the truck

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, I didn’t even graduate high school

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not really

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go and apply

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills for talking to customers, good driving record

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
don’t work too hard-really

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I like driving and plan to retire from here

What are your current career goals?
to save up money and retire early

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 none none none none
Prior Job 2 none none none none

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.