Police Officer (Male, Age 52) in toledo, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 52 who works as a Police Officer in toledo, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePolice Officer
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationtoledo, OH
Years Experience24 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
police department

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
police duties

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical, retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
no

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
patrol the streets, respond to calls, protect and serve

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i have a partner

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am7:30 roll call
8am to 9ampatrol, answer calls
9am to 10ampatrol, answer calls
10am to 11ampatrol, answer calls
11am to 12pmpatrol, answer calls
12pm to 1pmpatrol, answer calls
1pm to 2pmpatrol, answer calls
2pm to 3pmpatrol, answer calls
3pm to 4pmget off at 3:30 on a good day
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
civil service test and complete the police academy

What was the application process?
civil service test application, interview, academy

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes testing, psychological, physical,

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
all kinds of how would you respond in a given situtation

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
as well as can be expected

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
police academy ongoing yraing in special fields

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
it is alot of on the job training

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
probaly not it is a difficult job

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
communication skills, able to stay calm under pressure

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes for sure

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be prepared for the unexpected

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes i am retiring soon

What are your current career goals?
retire

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1line worker5 years?worked on automotive line
Prior Job 2army3 yearswas in us army

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.