Secretary III (Female, Age 53) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 53 who works as a Secretary III in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSecretary III
Salary$50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience23 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am employed at a large hospital located in Brooklyn, NY

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in the Nursing Department. We screen licensed nurses and new graduates who apply for registered nurse positions. I give them an assessment exam once the applicant is interviewed. I also schedule pre-employment physicals. My duties are initiating paperwork , computer work, job postings, transfers, terminations, preparing for events, etc.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, annuity plan, retirement plan, union benefits, 12 paid sick days annually, medical, dental, medications, eye glassess health insurance, 12 paid holidays, long and short term disability, 8 weeks maternity leave with full pay

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well paid for my current position, but underpaid for the amount of years I have worked.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job entails working with management and other office workers on a daily basis. I like the diversified work load. I dislike working with employees who are difficult to communicate with.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amarrived @ 8:30am. First day back from vacation after 2 weeks. Turned on computer. Read all e-mails. reviewed the calendar for the day. Answered several phone calls from applicants who are interested in applying for RN positions.
9am to 10amInitiated some paperwork regarding transfers and terminations. Logged information in book.Answered some phone calls in-between.
10am to 11amScheduled 2 pre-employment physicals for new employees who will be starting on the next orientation in September. Answered phones. Took a coffee break.
11am to 12pmTyped a few memos and letters. Initiated more paperwork. Answered phones. Organized some files.
12pm to 1pmRetrieved update on the past 2 weeks while I was on vacation. Directed out new volunteer on how to answer phones. Prepared files for new orientees.
1pm to 2pmTook 1 hr. lunch
2pm to 3pmGreeted 2 more applicants. Gave them applications to complete. Xeroxed licenses and necessary information for their file. Gave them a job description to review. Reviewed resumes and scheduled interviews.
3pm to 4pmTyped up the job posting. Reviewed, xeroxed, and distributed job posting.
4pm to 5pm4pm – 4:30pm. Prepare tomorrows work. answered phones, and completed diversified office duties. Clocked out at 4:30pm
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Recommendation.

What was the application process?
submitted resume, completed paper application, proof of US citizenship, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Entailed 2 interviews by the Directors of my department.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Basically everything that was already asked on the application.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I basically picked up things on my own. The other secretary explained what was expected, and I learned the priorities.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained by another Secretary in my department.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In a way. My HS subjects included Record Keeping, Typing, business administration, which is a plus for new grads.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes,

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
The applicant would actually need experience to work in a job similar to mine. They would need to initiate a resume that would impress the boss. They would have to be well spoken, look professional, and be polite. The interview needs to be impressive.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organizational, professional, technical skills are a plus. Computer literate. Able to be a team player. Needs experience in scheduling appts., answering phones. Able to work with many managers. Proficiency a plus.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
HS graduate is required. Needs office experience for this position.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be polite, organized, and be able to work with different people. Be able to handle difficult situations. Heavy workloads. Complete work in a timely manner. Do your work as instructed. Be accurate and neat. Do not spend too much time on personal matters.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. At this age, I feel that I will stay where I am.

What are your current career goals?
My goal is to retire at some point and open my own business in party planning and designing invitations. I missed my calling.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1checker10 yrs.$200 weeklyWorked for a foreign bank. Checked all letters of credit and debits before processed. Typed, answered phones.
Prior Job 2Receptionist2 yrs.$95 weeklyMy first job out of HS. Answered switchboard, assisted secretaries and clerks with overload of work. Greeted clients.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.1

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.