Nanny (Female, Age 40) in boston, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Nanny in boston, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNanny
Salary$80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationboston, MA
Years Experience22 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small, woman owned company

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
take care of children, take children on outings, travel with families

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, health and dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with children ages 2.5, 2 4 year olds, 8, 9, 14.

I love children.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Various locations.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amBring children to bus stop for school.

Make lunches. Make sure children have homework with them. Snacks.

8am to 9amlaundry for house. Cartoons and creative play with youngest child.
9am to 10amlaundry for house. Nap for youngest child.
10am to 11amlaundry for house.

11am to 12pmLunch for self and youngest child.
12pm to 1pmMarket with youngest child and miscellaneous errands.
1pm to 2pmErrands continued. Oil change for family car. Cat to vet.
2pm to 3pmMeet children at bus stop.
3pm to 4pmHomework for school aged children.

Begin to prepare dinner.

4pm to 5pmCook dinner.
5pm to 6pmServe dinner.

6pm to 7pmCleanup. Check homework.
7pm to 8pmYoungest child to bed.
8pm to 9pmOlder children to bed.
9pm to 10pmFree time.
10pm to 11pmFree time.
11pm to 12amFree time.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
na

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes-interviewed with both parents individually and together.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
idr

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, very comfortable with family.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no training, already had skills and experience.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
na

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Search online and network.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
No criminal history, loves children and animals, organized and punctual, respects house rules.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
experience with children or a degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
keep trying. get references.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
stay in this environment

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
umb
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.