Owner (Female, Age 49) in Albuquerque, NM

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Owner in Albuquerque, NM. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAlbuquerque, NM
Years Experience22 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I manufacture and sell jewelry and art, and am an artist, oils on canvas,

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manufacture a line of jewelry which I sell wholesale and retail, and in catalogues. I am also an artist and paint oils on canvas, which I also sell.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
not hardly

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with all types of people and interact with others often. I employ two to five seasonal and contract employees, depending on demand. I do a lot of cold calls, which is not my favorite thing to do, but is totally necessary.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work mostly at home in a home office. I have a workshop that is where I get most of my work done. I’m in front of the computer a lot, seeking new leads, adn spend a lot of time on the phone. When I do cold calls I am out at different retail locations, and sometimes do craft shows.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCoffee, phone calls and checking emails is how I start the morning. Usually I have to make calls to prospective clients on the east coast, since they are two hours later than we are here.
8am to 9amPhone calls to central time zone. Employees report to work soon, so I make a work plan for the day.
9am to 10am9am is starting time for my employees. We always sit and discuss the plans for the day over a cup of coffee. We really believe in caffeine around here. I have one or two employees at this time, depending on the demands of the day. I had two today. 9:30 is when the work really began. Pacific coast phone calls late in this hour.
10am to 11amThis is a really productive time for all of us. We are all usually ready to take on the tasks of the day, and can accomplish quite a bit of manufacturing during this time. I handle the phone and sales leads while my employees manufacture product.
11am to 12pmMore of the same. It’s usually two solid hours of intense production from 10 to 12. Sometimes I am working alongside my employees and sometimes I am manning the phone or doing paperwork. It all depends on how much we have to get done for the day. Today was busy with lots of product.
12pm to 1pmLunch time. I usually eat on the run, and today was no exception. This is a good time for me to meet with prospective clients. Usually the lunch hour is when I can catch them at ease and not bombarded with customers. Met with a shop owner in Old Town, and feel good about possibly making a sale.
1pm to 2pmStill out and about town and trying to make sales, or at least show my product. Two other cold calls in Old Town…hate it. I’m running errands and picking up some supplies for work. I had copies to make at Kinkos…too much for my printer. I’m back in the shop at about 2pm.
2pm to 3pmBack online to send emails thanking people for meeting with me, and sending information they have requested. A few more phone calls and I’m ready to call it a day.
3pm to 4pmCleaning up the shop is really important, and is done between 3pm and 3:30pm. I usually let my employees leave about 3:30pm, sometimes earlier depending upon the workload. Today they left at 3:15. We are very informal here. The people who work for me are homemakers and mothers who need to pick up their kids from school and go home to make dinner.
4pm to 5pmI’m done making money for the day…ha! Now I have to get dinner ready for my own family. I find I am more productive earlier in the day.
5pm to 6pmDinner and dishes.
6pm to 7pmEvening news. I do a liitle browsing on the www.
7pm to 8pmI paint during this time. I pick now because the dinner dishes are done and the house is quiet. I find it is easy to relax and get into a creative mood. My husband and son are in their own space doing their thing, so I have the shop to myself…best time to paint.
8pm to 9pmStill painting. Today was a busy day for me.
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
It came from my head

What was the application process?
not applicable

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Actually, I have an interview every time I make a cold call. Meeting new people and attempting to make a sale is just like starting from scratch every time.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
People just want to know about prices and how well my items sell in the marketplace.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I own my own business.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I have always been a very creative person. I have always enjoyed working with my hands and have luckily always been good at it, so it came naturally for me to make a living doing what I love.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In a way, yes. I took many art courses over the years, so that directll influenced my career choice. As far as running a business, that was something I have learned along the way.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Wow, this has taken me years to get to this point, but it has been very rewarding. It takes being lucky enough to have a husband to depend on his income, in case times are tough, which happens sometimes. It’s not a dependable income, but it has it’s good and bad times.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Mostly, don’t be afraid to talk to people. It takes someone who is able to interact with strangers, and to be proud of and believe in your own abilities.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have a great product or products that you feel confident that people will want to own. Make sure there is a market for it. Start small and let it grow. My products are luxury items, not necessities, so I really have to be a good salesperson to make it in this business.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This was always in the back of my mind to have my own company, but never really thought I could do so. I’m happy to say that I can.

What are your current career goals?
I would be ecstatic if I could make more money with my business. With the economy as it is, it’s hard to convince people that they need a non-essential item.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Believe in yourself and believe in your product!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1owner22 years15000 yrjewelry manufacture and art sales
Prior Job 2photlithographic Specialist12 years22000 yrManufacture of semiconductors through photolithography

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Sam Houston State UniversityMusic Education/Fine Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.