Computer Assistant-User Support Specialist (Male, Age 40) in North Andover, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 40 who works as a Computer Assistant-User Support Specialist in North Andover, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleComputer Assistant-User Support Specialist
Salary$62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNorth Andover, MA
Years Experience21 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Internal Revenue Service. We generate most of the income that runs the country. There are multiple areas with different tasks requiring varied skill levels from opening mail to programming complex problems.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help internal users resolve problems with thier PCs and different internal operating systems.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vacation, 16 hours of sick time a month, Blue Cross, TSP 401K with employer matching contributions

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a wide variety of people with different skill levels. I enjoy this immensly because it makes me explains things in different ways.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMonitor daily run controls for any transactions that did not process normally. Notify supervisors of any abnormal transactions so the user can re-enter them.
8am to 9amClarify to users why they were contacted to re-input transactions. Explain if it was an operator error or a systemic error. Looked up the status of a program problem for coworkers.
9am to 10amNotifiy users of any info alerts. Relayed data (can’t disclose)to a coworker via secure e-mail. Check the mail robot for returned error reports.
10am to 11amManipulated accounts using various internal command codes. (cannot disclose) Reviewed end of year procedures to command codes and processing techniques.
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pmFiled end of year diocuments for furture reference. Very slow. Changed voicemail message to reflect my absence until Nov. 12, 2008.
1pm to 2pmAnswered question from user relating to interest accrual. Notified co-workers of resolved program problem.
2pm to 3pmMade up next weeks schedule and organization chart.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper and a referral

What was the application process?
A thorough paper application, a civil service test and a background check.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, my interview process was intense and required preparation. I was interviewed by my immediate supervisor and other area directors via telephone. It required dressing appropriately, studying the job description to ensure I was eligible and could accurately answer any questions.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A-I cannot release that information.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
N/A- Cannot release information.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I studied business.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Finish high school, sign up with Selective Service, do not get arrested, take a civil service test and hone your computer skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Math in order to check computations. Computer skills for communicating, creating worksheets and composing letters.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep an open mind,listen to your instructers and pratice what you learned.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I have commited myself to my career and plan to take advantage of retirement benifits.

What are your current career goals?
To keep up with technology and move on to become an analyst.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1clerk1 year13000I recorded images onto microfilm and microfiche. I later learned the developing process.
Prior Job 2silk screener6 months15000I mixed chemicals to make “maskբ__???. I set up workers with required materials. I moved finished products into and out of industrial ovens and transported chemical waste to appropriate area.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/aNECCOAccounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.