Journeyman (Male, Age 51) in Richton Park, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 51 who works as a Journeyman in Richton Park, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleJourneyman
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRichton Park, IL
Years Experience21 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large company, apx. 200 individuals throughout the company. They are a sheet metal company (punching and processing of metal for use in other products)

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I run the machines that punch out “holes” in large peices of metal; I also set the coordinates of the punches

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health, dental. life insurances

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do not really have to work with others; considering I punch metal all day, the only interaction I have with others is when I need to pass the punched-material on. I enjoy this aspect because it allows me to do my work without distraction.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I peice-punch metal and set the machinery’s coordinations; this is not a collaborative effort

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDriving to work; arrive approximately 7:45 AM and start at 8 AM. During those 15 minutes, I put my lunch away and got my machine started.
8am to 9amI set the coordinates on my metal punch. This usually takes an entire hour, as coordinates are specific and I cannot misplace the punches, or else the punched metal will not be correct and the time, work, and metal are wasted.
9am to 10amPunched metal. At 9:30 AM I had my first break – I had coffee.
10am to 11amPunched metal until apx. 10:20 AM – finished the first set of metal to be punched. At apx. 10:30 AM (I took a self-appointed 10 minute break), I began setting the new coordinates for the new punch job.
11am to 12pmFinished setting coordinates at 11:30. Started punching metal and continued until 12:00 PM.
12pm to 1pmLunch; called my wife and ate
1pm to 2pmContinued to punch metal
2pm to 3pmContinued to punch metal
3pm to 4pmContinued to punch metal
4pm to 5pmDecided to work overtime (pay of 1.5x normal salary); continued punching metal
5pm to 6pmDrove home for the evening.
6pm to 7pmHome
7pm to 8pmHome
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmHome
10pm to 11pmHome
11pm to 12amHome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referred to the job by a friend

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, not really – I filled out a paper application and got a call several weeks later

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, at the time it was a simple task with a very detailed explination

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, it involved explinations of the machines I would be using, how to place the metal in the machines, and that was about it. I was not allowed to set the machines right away until I got my degree.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had no background – I was a clean slate, so it allowed me to focus on what I was doing and learning to do it well

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college and get at least an Associates Degree in engineering – that will save a lot of time of having to start at the very bottom.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to be physically able to lift amazingly large peices of metal, be able to be incredibly accurate (if a hole is just a fraction off it’s mark, then the whole peice will not work), and be patient.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, I am a Journeyman – it took a long time working my way up from the very bottom.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Works slow and throughly – rushing and/or not paying attention is the number one reason for both accidents and botched work

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it is a stable job that offers a fair and competitive wage and great incentives (health insurance, life insurance, dental insurance).

What are your current career goals?
To continue at this job and retire with a fine, well-built nest egg

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is not a glamorous job, but someone needs to do it and those that are in the field are well paid and compensated for their fine work!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Journeyman21 years70000Punching metal and setting the machinery coordinates
Prior Job 2N/A

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.