Mental Health Support Counselor (Female, Age 27) in Dillwyn, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Mental Health Support Counselor in Dillwyn, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMental Health Support Counselor
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationDillwyn, VA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a private for profit human service organization providing services to children and adults in a rural county. We have four different program areas including mentoring, therapeutic day treatment, in-home counseling and mental health support. My organization employs approx. 30 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assist adolescents and adults with mental health diagnosis develop independent and social skills in order for them to become a self sufficient member of the community.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
12 days per year vactation, earn 10 hours of sick leave per month, united health care insurance, and med dental insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job requires me to work independently from my co-workers which allows me to create my own work schedule which i enjoy. when working with difficult clients individual work can be a disadvantage because there isn’t anyone to talk to. My job requires me to work with the public daily and I have a caseload that allows me to see each of my clients 1 to 2 times per week.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amsleep
8am to 9amWake up, make various phone calls from home to schedule appointments with clients and confirm appointments with clients for today. Checked email from home and responded to a email from my Director about some paperwork that is due.
9am to 10amGot ready for work
10am to 11amcommute
11am to 12pmArrived at the office. Spoke with my secretary. reviewed my files and completed some paperwork that needed to go into my files. This included various types of documents that we are required to keep in each file.
12pm to 1pmMet client at there home. Took client to meet with there attorney. Talked with client about getting a driver’s license and obtaining employment. Talked with client about her career goals.
1pm to 2pmCont meeting with client.
2pm to 3pmCont meeting with client.
3pm to 4pmMet with another client and took her to the local community services board for an appt. with her psychiatrist. Talked with client about various treatment goals and steps she needed to take to meet those goals.
4pm to 5pmCont meeting with cl.
5pm to 6pmCont meeting with cl
6pm to 7pmHome
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
I submitted a resume and was called for an interview. I completed the application after i was hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
My current job did not require a formal interview because i had known my director due to my previous position which was also in the human services field. Generally, my director chooses to conduct a formal interview prior to hiring anyone.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer explained to me that most of my work is done with little to no supervision however i was told that my supervisor would be available if i needed to ask a question. I have found it difficult to get assistance from my supervisor when needed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Everyone at my organization is required to complete 40 training hours per year regardless of how long a person has been employed. Many of our training are online and we are able to choose which topics are relevant. We are also required to be certified in cpr and first aid which is provided by my agency.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My bachelor’s degree is in social work and I feel that the course material prepared me to work with a diverse population. my course work did not provide me with any counseling theories or skills which would have been benefical.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, my internship helped prepare me for my work with this specific population because i did my internship in the same small community in which i am now employed.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
My job requires a minimum of Bachelor’s degree in any human services field plus a year of experience within the human services field. Most programs require internships for graduation requirements which is counted toward the one year of experience.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, organization skills, the ability to work independently with minimal supervision, ability to respect differences in people, ability to empower clients to promote change. the ability to use community resources wisely.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Bachelor’s degree in a human services field.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Self-awareness is extremely important. Its a very stressful and high demanding work field. Its extremely important to make time for themselves.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because upon graduation I was not sure what area of the human services field i wanted to work in. my current employment has allowed me to work in a different area of the human services field.

What are your current career goals?
Ultimately, i enjoyed my job working for the state at a department of social services the most and i am currently pursuing a position with in that agency.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1mental health support counselor21 months36000Work with adolescents and adults with mental health diagnosis to teach them independent and social skills to enable them to become self sufficient adults.
Prior Job 2social worker18 months29000Worked for the state at a local department of social services. Was responsible for conducting child protective services investigations and also managing foster care cases.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.35Longwood UniversityBachelor’s in Social Work
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.