(Female, Age 43) from cheektowaga, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 43 who works as a Generalist in cheektowaga, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Generalist
Salary $46,100
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 37.5
Company Size (not answered)
Location cheektowaga, NY
Years Experience 20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Catholic Health – Group of Hospitals in western New York

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
perform laboratory testing on various body fluids (i.e. blood, urine, body fluids). Also perform maintenance and troubleshoot instrumentation as needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
accumulate 12.0 hrs per pay period of pto (one bank for personal time and sick time). Blue Cross health insurance. pension plan, 403b plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My position involves working with others to provide timely (stat and routine) results for various areas of the core laboratory including hematology, coagulation, urinalysis, chemistry, and special chemistry.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
our lab is located on the 4th floor of the hospital. We are very busy as we are a 24/7 facility. I like the being busy here – and we follow a rotation schedule that puts us in different areas in one week.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
online job bid

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to get a taste of lab work, take biology, microbiology in high school. If there are oppportunities for associate degree (MLT) try for the 2yr college. For more pay go for the (MT) 4yr degree. Some states do require a license (in addition to degree with clinical experience).

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
high organizational/multitask skills

some technical skills – depending on the area you want to go into.

surprisingly, you also need instrumentation skills – for maintenance and troubleshooting

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
skills and workflow take time to develop