Freelance Writer * Sr. Technical Writer (Female, Age 55) in Arcata, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 55 who works as a Freelance Writer * Sr. Technical Writer in Arcata, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFreelance Writer * Sr. Technical Writer
Salary$18,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week32
Company Size(not answered)
LocationArcata, NY
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an Engineer as Sr. Technical Writer, and, for an Article Writing service. In addition, I also do other independent research and writing.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Writing a number of different articles on different topis.

Supporting a local engineer with writing of drawings, specifications and other engineering documentation.

Occasionally work other administrative temp assignments accordingly.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Retirement and Trust Dividends

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under Definitely Under But Money Is Money After All

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to work with editors and owners of the article service for which I write.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home Office and Living Room Depending

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amwriting
8am to 9amwriting
9am to 10amsurveys
10am to 11amsurveys
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmwriting
1pm to 2pmwriting
2pm to 3pmwriting
3pm to 4pmrelaxing
4pm to 5pmrelaxing
5pm to 6pmrelaxing
6pm to 7pmrelaxing
7pm to 8pmresearch
8pm to 9pmresearch
9pm to 10pmrelaxing
10pm to 11pmsleeping
11pm to 12amsleeping

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Freelance Job Service iFreelance dot com Online

What was the application process?
3 Different Writing Tests Passed All First Time

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, via an e-mail interview with owners and editors. I have now been enjoying working with this same service.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
About hours I could work, what I thought was fair for a certain # of words / articles and my strengths, and, weaknesses when it comes to working on an independent basis.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, and continue to do so.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Reading introductory materials, and, watching tutorial videos on company Help / Tutorial Webpages.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely as I’ve completed English classes at both Harvard and Humboldt Universities.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I located my job through I-freelance.com which lists a variety of jobs on a freelance bulletin board at a nominal monthly, or, annual fee * I would advise to be sure and select monthly at sign-up and renewal. However, this is the third job I’ve had and have now worked for the writing service for over 3 years so jobs do exist, and, pay as I have been paid every week for the work I’ve submitted since sign-up.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Computer Expert, Fast Thinker and Writer, Excellent grammar and spelling skills. In addition, most article writing services provide articles world wide so knowing how to write for a world audience is also important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes * Whether home schooled, or, traditionally educated, one needs have excellent English and Writing skills.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Self-dedication, ability to write concise clear sentences at word counts indicated, follow instructions, and, reviews work before submitting same. Also, it is good to look for a service which allows one to write freely while following guidelines and topics. For, when one can select articles with which one has an interest, such articles are often going to be more interesting both to writer, and, reader.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – I love writing – I do every type there is both for money, as primary income, and, otherwise. In fact, I am also a well known Poet-At-Large in Austin due to the International Poetry Festivals and in other areas where I have both received payment, and, performed free of charge.

What are your current career goals?
To become a Poetry Rep at a local school while still maintaining my writing gigs to survive.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that I’m amazed that how each step in the process, from first job through present has provided a stair step to the next level which has ended up being able to work at home, on my own schedule as long as I adhere to company guidelines, and, deadlines. I am very Blessed to have made it thus far and will always be grateful for all the schooling, and, learning achieved in the process – Thank you

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Freelance Writer3 years4000Freelance writing job.
Prior Job 2Help Desk Analyst1 Year28000Assisted company employees using large intranet system as Help Desk phone analyst and performed other duties including technical editing and writing.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8HumboldtEnglish/Psy/Rel
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.