Aircraft Maintenance 

(Male, Age 41) from hampton, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Aircraft Maintenance in hampton, GA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Aircraft Maintenance
Salary $65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location hampton, GA
Years Experience 20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
airline, over 5000 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
prepare planes for flight, change engines, do all maintenance and taxi to gates and hangar

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
free flights on several airlines, medical, dental, retirement, 401k, life insurance, free uniforms

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work with other mechanics and with our passengers. I love working with both. This is a job you do because you love it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
outside at the busiest airport in the world!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 1
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am got home from work. My hour are 10:00pm till 7:00am
8am to 9am sleep
9am to 10am sleep
10am to 11am sleep
11am to 12pm sleep
12pm to 1pm sleep
1pm to 2pm sleep
2pm to 3pm sleep
3pm to 4pm wake up and prepare for a new day/night.
4pm to 5pm eat
5pm to 6pm work around house
6pm to 7pm walk dog
7pm to 8pm pack lunch for night shift
8pm to 9pm change into work uniform
9pm to 10pm leave for work
10pm to 11pm clock in, get turn over from second shift, get job assignments, run gates so planes can leave
11pm to 12am start overnight maintenance so planes will be ready for morning push

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Knew the manager and co-workers

What was the application process?
resume, application, FAA background check

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, Met with the manager and talked about other airlines we worked at together.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
When can you start? Is this pay ok?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, lots of FAA recurrent training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, had an A&P license plus an FAA Radio license and trained in the Navy and college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, Practical experience in the Navy and the rest at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona, Fl.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be very mechanically inclined, like odd hours, weird days off and no much pay.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Try to get into the avionics portion of aircraft maintenance.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, always wanted to work on aircraft

What are your current career goals?
retire from an airline

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Do it for love not money.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Aircraft Technican 7 years 85000 Repair and maintain aircraft
Prior Job 2 n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Embry-Riddle Aviation
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)