Fork Lift Driver 

(Male, Age 43) from oconto, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 43 who works as a Fork Lift Driver in oconto, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Fork Lift Driver
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location oconto, NY
Years Experience 20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
paper mill that makes toilet tissue and paper toweling

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
unload train cars, provide lunch break time for other workers and area clean up

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
insurance holiday pay 4 weeks vacation-

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes i like it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in a mill, very hot

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am sleeping after night shift
8am to 9am sleeping
9am to 10am sleeping
10am to 11am sleeping
11am to 12pm woke up and bathed
12pm to 1pm prepared lunch and ate lunch
1pm to 2pm made lunch to take to work
2pm to 3pm departed for work
3pm to 4pm worked evening shift as fork truck driver
4pm to 5pm unloaded 1/3 of railcar with bales of kraft
5pm to 6pm unloaded 1/3 of rail car
6pm to 7pm gave relief breaks to 4 other people for lunch
7pm to 8pm relief breaks
8pm to 9pm unload last 1/3 of box car
9pm to 10pm area clean up
10pm to 11pm area clean up
11pm to 12am departed for home and bed

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
in plant interview

What was the application process?
in person application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes 2 days training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes fork lift and safety training

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no help

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get tech schooling

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
electrical or instrument

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 na na na na
Prior Job 2 na na na na

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:na

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
na na na
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
na na na

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.