Physician (Female, Age 60) in Santa Ana, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 60 who works as a Physician in Santa Ana, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePhysician
Salary$95,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSanta Ana, CA
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Univ of Calif Irvine Student Health Center

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
dermatologist, see patients and supervise dermatology residents

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Anthem blue cross health insurance and Delta Dental insurance; reasonable vacation, sick leave; no 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
undercompensated, but that is the case at UCI—and I enjoy the work

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I enjoy seeing patients and my co-workers/colleagues

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
clinic—well organized, nice people generally

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am7:40am, get in the car to drive to work.
8am to 9am8:25am arrive at work to begin my day. Log on to the computer, as we use electronic medical records (EMR).

8:35am: Go in to patient exam room to see my first patient.

8:50am—begin to see next patient, different room

9am to 10am9:15—Next patient

9:30 –next patient.

Catch up with some of the charting/electronic notes regarding the appts.

10am to 11am10-10:30: Do a minor sugery on the next patient.

Make phone calls and chart until

10:45am—go into next room to see another patient.

11am to 12pmSee 3 more patients during this hour,

in addition to being called to “curb-side consult” 2 colleagues patients and supervise the dermatology resident in person with another patient.

12pm to 1pm12-12:30—Do more computer charting, phone calls.

12:30 – 1:00: maybe eat a little lunch at the computer while working.

1pm to 2pmEmployees conference in a meeting room within the health center building.
2pm to 3pm2pm–see patient

2:15pm—next patient

2:45pm –next patient

3pm to 4pm3pm–another patient

3:15pm—another patient

3:30pm—another patient

3:50pm—last patient of the day roomed for me to do surgery that takes one hour

4pm to 5pmUpon completion of above-mentioned surgery, I complete the review of notes written about their patients by the dermatology resident(s) and make/return phone calls.

All these things can often take me until 7pm or a bit more (even up to 9pm)

5pm to 6pmSee above.
6pm to 7pmSee above.
7pm to 8pmSee above.
8pm to 9pmSee above.
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Recommended by chairman of my academic department.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No interview years ago; the Medical Director knew me.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
NA

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
NA.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, medical school and dermatology residency.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes—Medical school and residencies tend to be intense and good/excellent preparations for work as a physician.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Enjoy and do well as an undergraduate, do wonderfully in medical school.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good people skills are very optimal. Hopefully the person likes people in general and is willing to continue to learn indefinitely.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Certainly—medical school, residency or residencies at very least.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be dedicated and enjoy.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes.

What are your current career goals?
Cont to provide my best care for my patients.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No, thank you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.