Teacher (Female, Age 52) in Junction City, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Teacher in Junction City, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location Junction City, OR
Years Experience 20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
8th grade science class in a middle school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I teach integrated science to 8th grade students.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
insurance, pers

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I really enjoy working with others.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a school, which I like, except my room has no windows.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am In class, getting ready.
8am to 9am Teaching
9am to 10am Teaching
10am to 11am Teaching
11am to 12pm 1/2 hr for lunch
12pm to 1pm 32 min prep period

teaching

1pm to 2pm teaching
2pm to 3pm teaching

bus duty

3pm to 4pm bus duty

after school activities

4pm to 5pm grade papers

staff meeting

5pm to 6pm go home

dinner

relax

6pm to 7pm family activities
7pm to 8pm family activities
8pm to 9pm Grade papers
9pm to 10pm Grade papers
10pm to 11pm Plan lessons for the next day.
11pm to 12am Go to bed.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
walking the pavement and substituting at various schools.

What was the application process?
Submitted resume, all transcripts, lettrs of recommendation, cover letter, handwritten paper about myself.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. There was one interview with four people involved.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked questions about discipline and classroom management.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. This is a learn on the job profession.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, 5 years of college and one year of student teaching.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have many years of math and science classwork and was well prepared academically.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, a little.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Volunteer in a classroom first.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A good education in the subject taught, discipline and organization, along with a sense of humor.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Switch grades and subjects until you find your spot.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This is my plan.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to continue being a teacher.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Math Teacher 6 years 42000 Math Teacher for 8th grade.
Prior Job 2 6th grade teacher 4 years 14000 6th grade teacher.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Oregon State University Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4 Seattle Pacific University4.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.