Owner (Male, Age 48) in Seymour, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 48 who works as a Owner in Seymour, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSeymour, NY
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I own & operate my own business. I raise English Bulldogs and also do taxidermy work. Both businesses are operated out of my home with the help of my family. We currently have no outside employees. We do higher temporary help on occasion.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I own, raise and breed 11 females and 2 male English Bulldogs. Bullies take a lot more work than average dogs. I AI them, stay with them to help deliver pups because they frequently have difficult deliveries, sometimes c-sections. Sometimes we bottlefeed pups or have to put them on and off the mamas every 2 hours.

I also do taxidermy work. I am federally and state licensed. I do any kind of legal animal, bird or fish.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I of course would like to make more. My salary is pretty much determined by the economy

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
not really. I enjoy having work time spent with my wife.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home. used to have a job I drove to, love working at home much better.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSelf employed, so I am sitting in bed with my with drinking coffee, watching Today show and planning the day.
8am to 9amClean kennel, check on dogs, fix anything that needs it.
9am to 10ammount 2 deer, this has several hours of waiting for it to soak, tan, and tumble dry. During that time I work around the house and farm.
10am to 11amStill working on those deer mounts. It can take several hours
11am to 12pmTaking lunch while the deer hides tumbles in wood chips to clean and dry it.
12pm to 1pmfinish up deer mounts, check on the dogs, do things I want to get done around the house.
1pm to 2pmPaint a fish or finish out a dry mount.
2pm to 3pmAI dogs that need it.
3pm to 4pmDone for the day unless something comes up.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
just researched things I liked to do and decided on taxidermy and bulldogs

What was the application process?
none

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no. I’m self employed.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
n/a

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I taught myself, watched videos & red books.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not specifically

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
If you want to work at home. Find something you love to do. Talk to someone that is self employed to find out the ups and downs. Do what you love.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be organized and self motivated. You are working for yourself and don’t have anyone else to tell you what to do.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I’ve had 60 hours of college. But I’ve taught myself what I need to know to run my own businesses.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you are doing it to be happy, not necessarily to make lots of money.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
ye

What are your current career goals?
this is my goal to be self employed

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Self employment isn’t for everyone, but I love it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1administrator10can’t rememberRan all aspects of a nursing home
Prior Job 2sales2 yearscan’t remembersold cars

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5several different onesbusiness/accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)