Store Manager (Female, Age 53) in Pine Bluff, AR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 53 who works as a Store Manager in Pine Bluff, AR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Store Manager
Salary $31,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Pine Bluff, AR
Years Experience 20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
This is a garden store. We sell everything related to gardening. It’s like the garden section of Lowe’s, etc. We have vegetable, flower and herb seeds, plants, fruit, berries and bulbs. Garden soils, fertilizer, etc. We have fresh vegetables that we sell, and seasonal items. We also have products related to wild birds. feeders, seed, etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I run the store. I make orders, do all the office duties like pay role, accounts payable, etc. I organize and plan the sales, do inventory and everything related to running a retail garden shop. I take care of the plants and trees.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I take whatever days off that I need. I do not have health insurance, I have my own retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel comfortable where I am. I need health insurance though.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others, and it’s ok with me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a very nice area of town. On the outskirts of the town. A country type setting. Lots of flowers and trees, and open areas to walk. A store nearby, close enough to walk to. We get food and snacks there everyday. Everyone knows everyone.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am This time period is not work related.
8am to 9am I open up the store. No paper work this am, just cleaning around the store inside. Sweeping and dusting. Tidy up seed racks and bird seeds bins. Sanitize and clean counters, and restroom area.
9am to 10am Water the plants outdoors. Pick up any fallen leaves or debris from plants. Pick off any dead leaves. Arrange plants to be eye pleasing.I moved one group of plants to another area indoors, and to another greenhouse.
10am to 11am Tidy up the outside of store and parking lot. Pick up trash, if any. Work on fall displays. I love to make fall displays that have several types of pumpkins, hay bales, corn stalks, gourds, mums, pansies, scarecrows, and anything else that looks like fall is coming. I sell items from these displays, so I want them to look just right.
11am to 12pm Continue to work on fall displays and help to unload delivery truck with mums. The huge bags of peanuts have arrived. I put these out to sell, and divide some bags for smaller paper bag sales. We roast the peanuts here in the store, too. We also sell raw peanuts. Roasting starts next week.
12pm to 1pm Go to lunch over at store. Come back to eat outdoors on picnic table, the weather is so lovely. Thinking about the turnips and turnip greens for fall sales. We have a huge garden with greens, and I sell those at the farm-stand outside the store. I am doing some drawings of how my displays should look while eating.
1pm to 2pm Work on fall displays. Some apples have arrived. Snacking on one of these beauties right now. I will need to divide these up into baskets to sell. I’ll do that tomorrow, but I want a few cute baskets to add to my fall displays. I’m fixing those today. I’m digging out some red and brown baskets from the storage room to use in displays.
2pm to 3pm Arrange new plants on display tables outdoors. This takes time, and I work on this with other employees.
3pm to 4pm Talking to plant distributor about the pansies that I have ordered, and when they are expected to arrive. Adding some new colors of pansies to my order. Sending a fax to my home with information related to this order.
4pm to 5pm Start on work schedule for next week, and make a few calls to customers about orders. Go home.
5pm to 6pm Resting at home with family. Not work related.
6pm to 7pm Do not work during this time, no night shift.
7pm to 8pm N/A Do not work during this time, no night shift.
8pm to 9pm N/A Do not work during this time, no night shift.
9pm to 10pm N/A Do not work during this time, no night shift.
10pm to 11pm N/A Do not work during this time, no night shift.
11pm to 12am N/A Do not work during this time, no night shift.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My love of gardening and knowledge of gardening landed me this job with family.

What was the application process?
I filled out the basic paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, we talked about my knowledge of gardening and I answered questions about seeds, plants, fruits, when to plant them, what to feed them, how to prune them, when to cut plants back, etc.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How long have I been gardening? Who taught me what I know? Why do I love gardening? When plants are planted during spring and fall. When to prune rose bushes, when to plant strawberries and fruit trees. What is an heirloom seed compared to hybrid seeds?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I felt right at home the first day. He showed me what I needed to do, and I did it. I pretty knew what the job was about.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I learned from hands on experience. I learned the office and manager skills from watching others who did that job. I asked questions.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, not really. I am a high school grad. If anything, complete high school or get a GED.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
For me, it’s the love of gardening and growing things. I think you would need to enjoy doing this type of work to really benefit from it. You have to enjoy digging in the dirt and feeling the soil between your fingers, and sometimes your toes. lol. I would suggest reading books on gardening, and taking a horticulture class. Learn some basic office skills, and maybe take a class to learn other office and manager skills. Places like Home Depot have gardening classes. You can learn gardening skills from online gardening forums like Daves Garden & Gardenweb.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The gardening knowledge mentioned above. You would need to know how to grow plants, trees, shrubs, bulbs, seeds, fruits and berries. You would need to know basic office skills and computer skills. You would need to have people skills. Know how to treat workers and customers in a good way. You would need to be able to organize and do visual displays, order products and services, do pay-role, accounts payable and schedules,etc.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I learned from hands on experience and from reading. Yes, you would need training and experience.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would start with learning the gardening skills, and work towards the office skills by taking a class or classes. You may want to check out a Master Gardeners program.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this will be my store in the future. I will own it.

What are your current career goals?
To work as long as I can to stay healthy and active. To do this is something that is a hobby for me, too. I do this at work and at home. Gardening is a passion of mine.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Do something that you love. Don’t waist your time doing something that you don’t really like, unless you really need to. Go for the gold. If you love books, become a writer, work in a book store, etc. I love to read, so we have gardening books we sell, too. Be happy where you are, and while you are doing it. I love my job. I can walk to work, ride my bike, and even ride my horse to work if I want. It’s all good.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Sales 8 6 Sales, working on floor displays, keeping store clean.
Prior Job 2 Cook 15 3.25 I was the cook at a restaurant. I did all the cooking and preparing of foods. I had other cooks who helped.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:A-B

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.