Designer (Male, Age 50) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 50 who works as a Designer in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDesigner
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrooklyn, NY
Years Experience20 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a company of about 100 workers. It is a fashion company, designing and making clothes.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I design clothes as well as make then when necessary.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medicare, Christmas vacation, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to discuss about possible designs.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No interview, just a presentation

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, showed me the workplace and how to work the machines.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No training except going to fashion school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, without the education I wouldn’t have known what to do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I recommend for the person to go to fashion school. Have a good eye for fashion.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Needs to be social to interact with others about fashion styles. Needs to express theirselves. Should know how to make clothing, such as cutting and sewing.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Should show others you have the ability to make unique clothing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I always wanted to be a fashion desinger.

What are your current career goals?
I just want to make money off fashion designing.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is quite fun and I recommend this career to others

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1VolunteerSummersNoneI helped give ideas for fashion ideas.
Prior Job 2Investor4 years1000Invested in stocks.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8BM Design SchoolBachelor’s Degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.