(Female, Age 30) from fincastle, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Analyst in fincastle, VA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Analyst
Salary $32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location fincastle, VA
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Its a large national government position w/numerous employees and regional offices

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
receive claims, make decisions

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
all of the above, 1 week vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. usually see co-workers and use phone and computer to interact w/clients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am drink coffee, read email, get phone messages
8am to 9am get down to work, reveiw new work for the day
9am to 10am take break, return calls
10am to 11am review email, complete yesterdays claims
11am to 12pm early lunch
12pm to 1pm read new materials that came in
1pm to 2pm close out cases that are ready to process
2pm to 3pm review new cases again to see if new material had came in
3pm to 4pm take break, catch up on email
4pm to 5pm go home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
submitted app, brought in paper resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, interview in front of panel of future bosses.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what makes you qualified, what if this happens – how would you handle

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, you learn as you go

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, going out of town and there is continous training as policies become updated

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
sort of. Having to think things through to do school work. Real work experience was the best though

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
search federal job listings

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
defintely at least a bachelors degree and medical field exp

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
just be patient and you will learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
possibly – depends on what positions open up

What are your current career goals?
move up tp next level of job

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nice holiday time off

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 analyst 2.5 yrs 32000 make decisions on claims
Prior Job 2 proposal writer 2 yrs 30000 write proposals for collection agency

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8 radford marketing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2 hollins liberal arts

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.