Ms Iii, IT Rep (Female, Age 26) in Franklin Lakes, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Ms Iii, IT Rep in Franklin Lakes, NJ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMs Iii, IT Rep
Salary$145,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationFranklin Lakes, NJ
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Monitoring and maintaining the public computer systems in the computer labs and School network. Installing and configuring computer systems, diagnosing hardware/software faults and solving technical and applications problems, either over the phone, on-line or in person for the students, faculty, staff, and administration.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 1 week sick leave, health and dental.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with the entire school community on a daily basis and I enjoy the social interactions.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
An Air Conditioned office located at the ground floor of the library. No complaints

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up. Shower. Eat breakfast. Catch the bus which is approximately a 20 minute ride to school with 2 transfers.
8am to 9amArrive and clock in at work. Go through morning detailed reports and systems maintenance checks. look for any irregularities with the network or system.
9am to 10amIf there are any problems, notify them to my supervisor and begin scheduled work on them. if not, take a a walk around the computer labs and see if there are any systems that are down or not working, file a report and take them away for maintenance servicing
10am to 11amperform maintenance servicing on said systems that are not working at the computer lab (including printers). once finished go to the offices of several departments and see if there are any problems with the faculty and administrations network and computers.
11am to 12pmmeeting with co-workers and supervisors with progress reports for that morning and afternoon assignments. we are each tasked with different projects as deemed fit by our supervisor
12pm to 1pmbreak for lunch
1pm to 2pmif tasked with a project, meet with co-workers. review project details. brainstorm ideas. try to find all the different scenarios and problems with the project or all possible solutions for the problem.
2pm to 3pmReview systems logs. check online reports filed by students. provide online assistance to students experiencing technical difficulties with their laptops or with the school computers. Each technician is alloted one hour for online tech support and 2-3pm is my hour
3pm to 4pmone last review of systems and maintenance logs. replace serviced computers and printers to the computer labs, libraries, administrative offices etc. if items still need to be serviced, make note. order any parts from the mainland if need be.
4pm to 5pmif overtime work is needed, stay and work. otherwise go home
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmsleep
9pm to 10pmsleep
10pm to 11pmsleep
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a friend

What was the application process?
Interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, meeting with my supervisor and the person who referred me

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. My employer told me I would be working on an island in the caribbean. They told me what i needed to bring with me and what I could get once there. They told me The type of things required by me on a daily basis.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, no training was needed as I already met their requirements.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I was prepared for my work without a doubt, just not the lifestyle

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, through my intership i was able to learn a lot and gain quite a bit of hands on experience

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start networking.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be good and savvy with Computers, a few years of programming and technical training as well as on hands experience couldn’t hurt

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes of course

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Always know your systems and keep up to date with current hardware, software, OSs, hotfixes etc. Knowing the various technologies inside out will always keep you one step ahead of the game

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes it is. I hope to once visit an island and even work on one, maybe even retire

What are your current career goals?
as of right now i’m complacent where i am. may continue to work here for another 5-8 years at least and there see where I am in life.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1MSIII, IT Rep2.5 yrs145000Monitoring and maintaining the public computer systems in the computer labs and School network. Installing and configuring computer systems, diagnosing hardware/software faults and solving technical and applications problems, either over the phone, on-line or in person for the students, faculty, staff, and administration.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.0+

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5RutgersComptuer Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.