Scientist (Female, Age 34) in Waterford, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Scientist in Waterford, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Scientist
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Waterford, MI
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
My company works on Battery Technology. Primarily, we are a materials company, developing innovative materials for battery applications in consumer electronics.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work in the laboratory. My primary function is to test battery materials in different formats.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, HSA, Health insurance, Life insurance, Short-term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
My compensation is fair.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job requires regular and frequent interaction with my colleagues. I enjoy interacting with others in the workplace, it allows for idea flow and discoveries.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my job using the MichiganWorks website.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume to the email address that was provided in the job description.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a preliminary phone interview with the director of the department. Afterward, I had a formal on-site interview with the company. I was interviewed by the Director of the department, my immediate supervisor, the lab manager, and the CEO of the company.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My backgrounds, valuable skill sets, my strength and weakness, my biggest achievement to-date, how would I describe my ‘ideal’ workplace, what do I view as my challenges.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel I prepared myself for the job. Going into the job, I knew it was going to be very different from I have learned in school. But I was confident I would be able to learn quickly, and I did.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No formal training, just on the job training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My science background prepared me for any laboratory setting. Science is about a lot of hands-on, and I am good at it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did summer internships in various biology and biochemistry laboratories.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Obtain a 4-year degree from a good university, acquire good communication skills, be willing to work overtime when necessary.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good communication is a must in any work place, and it’s not exception at my workplace. Being able to communicate your ideas and thoughts are crucial in a research and development environment.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, a Bachelor’s degree is a must and a minimum.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard, don’t be afraid to ask questions, be modest, be respectful of senior level scientists in the lab.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not sure. I never thought I would be working with batteries.

What are your current career goals?
Continue to work. My focus right now is more family-oriented.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Chemist 2.5 years 35000 Quality Control Chemist, testing different product samples manufactured within the company.
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.