Controller (Female, Age 30) in Naples, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Controller in Naples, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleController
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNaples, FL
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Private country club including fitness, pool, dining and tennis.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Accounts payable and recievable, Human Resources, daily accounting of club activities.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, dental, vision, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, it does. I don’t work with alot of the public in general, but I share an office. It makes it not so boring!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. It gets stagnant sometimes sitting at the desk all day.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDid laundry, got kids medicine because they were home sick from school, put makeup on, talked to husband
8am to 9amfinished getting ready for work, drove to work-took about 15 minutes, arrived at work and turned computer on, changed backup tape, got tea, used restroom.
9am to 10amchecked work and personal email, replied to email. Looked over tickets from our club’s resaurant from the day before for any discrpancies, filed.
10am to 11amDid deposit and posted payments to member accounts. Surfed internet for a little bit.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmEntered invoices into accounts payable, ran check run through computer, copied checks and mailed checks.
1pm to 2pmFiled and checked email again. Returned phone messages regarding questions on members accounts.
2pm to 3pmMade phone calls to delinquent accounts. Faxed backup of charges to members that needed it.
3pm to 4pmReturned more phone calls, surfed internet. Slow today.
4pm to 5pmleft work early, husband had to go to work early and they would have been home alone. Drove home, got mail.
5pm to 6pmdid homework with the kids
6pm to 7pmstarted and ate dinner, cleaned up, did laundry
7pm to 8pmwatched tv
8pm to 9pmput kids to bed, more tv
9pm to 10pmwent to bed about 9:30
10pm to 11pmsleeping
11pm to 12amsleeping

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My boss was my boss at my last job and he asked me to come work for him.

What was the application process?
resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no, I had already worked for my boss at my last job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
We only talked about salary and benefits.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. They showed me what to do and were there for me if I had questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, the person that worked in the position before me showed me what to do.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I had taken college classes in computers and business.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have intership experience

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take accounting classes, do office type work.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational skills, good with money.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
some accounting training would be beneficial

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take accounting classes or have someone mentor you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I don’t really have a career plan, so I guess it is!

What are your current career goals?
I would like to go back to college and get a Bachelors degree. I would like something more exciting and interesting and where I feel I made a difference in some way. I would like to be proud of the work I do.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am ready for a career change!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Controller2.5 years34000Accounting, A/P, A/R, HR
Prior Job 2Asst. Controller3 years28000Accounting, A/P, A/R, HR

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8AIUAA Business
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.