Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 39) from Springfield, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Springfield, MO. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $29,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Springfield, MO
Years Experience 2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the City of Springfield and specifically with Planning and Development which works with zoning and landmarks issues.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I coordinate with the Planning and Zoning Commission, the Landmarks Board and the Board of Adjustment (a quasi-legal board). I provide the cases to them, attend the meetings and prepare part of the documents that are then forwarded on to City Council.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Insurance, sick pay, vacation, compensatory time, family sick pay.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated based on salary reviews that have been conducted with comparable sized cities.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Arrive at work at 7:30. Check voice mail, boot up the computer to check e-mails. Sort through the items that were unfinished from previous day. Check calendar to see what needs to be sent out today.
8am to 9am When area supervisor arrives check with her to see if any cases that are due to go to the boards this week have been delayed so I can either renotify the neighbors of the new dates for their cases to be assigned to an agenda or process if the case has been closed. Work on the correspondence due to the boards this week.
9am to 10am Continue working on items due to go out to the neighbors near the cases, items that need to go on the agenda, contact various departments regarding changes to those agendas. Get items ready for meeting with the Department Head and other area supervisors.
10am to 11am Meeting at 10 with the Department Head and other supervisors. Coordinate schedules with them for what is on my calendar for the week.
11am to 12pm Go over my calendar and make any needed changes or additions from the previous meeting. Continue working with correspondence and get mailing labels ready for agenda packets to go out.
12pm to 1pm Lunch from 12:00 to 12:30. Get all cases ready for printing, collating them as needed. Go to the print shop and drop those off. Get all envelopes ready, prepare the agenda, e-mails to all those that need to be notified of what is going on this agenda.
1pm to 2pm Continue working on e-mails and getting the packets ready to go. Go to the print shop to pick up items needed.
2pm to 3pm Assemble the packet of cases-usually 15-30 items on the agenda.
3pm to 4pm Get the packets finished up, get the the mail room by 4:00. Start working on the upcoming agendas for the next meeting the following week.
4pm to 5pm Leave work for the day about 4-4:30
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.