Drafter (Male, Age 25) in Springfield, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Drafter in Springfield, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDrafter
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSpringfield, NY
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The company I work for consists of approximately 12 employees. The company is an Architecture and Engineering firm that specializes in Churches.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My primary duties include drawing plans for civil and site design. I am under a Civil engineer and do the drafting.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, Comp-time to use with sick days. Decent health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under-paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, there is a lot of interaction with peers as well as with clients. I would rather not have as much interaction but It doesn’t bother me a great deal.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a climate-controlled office. It is a comfortable environment although you sit behind a desk most of the time. Some people like this, some people don’t.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amBegin work day. Look back at what didn’t get finished the day before.
9am to 10amContinue working on previous day’s work and/or ask what is on the agenda and get more work.
10am to 11amTalk with peers about deadlines and prioritize work.
11am to 12pmCallback people if needed. Usually just continue working on projects.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmContinue drafting.
2pm to 3pmContinue drafting.
3pm to 4pmContinue drafting.
4pm to 5pmWrap up for today. Write down time spent on different jobs. Clock out at 5.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Friend

What was the application process?
Submitted resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed actually with the president of the company. That was intimidating for sure. It was straight-forward and walked out with a job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Basically, I was asked about experience and what I can contribute to the company. Work ethic type questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I felt I got enough training to really help.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was just a few days of training to use the drafting program the office used and adapting to use their standards.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no, I studied computers in college so I knew enough of the technical side of things and learned the software quickly having no prior use of the particular software.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
There are many ways to enter this field. Anymore it is almost necessary to get a degree in drafting, engineering, etc. A community college is great preparation and allows you to get a degree much quicker than a four-year university.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills aren’t extremely important. They are still necessary. You will be talking with co-workers, managers, and clients. Being polite and friendly helps. Basic computer knowledge of particular drafting programs is needed as well.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, I think the individual needs to have some knowledge of what they are drafting but may be able to talk their way into a job without a degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The field is a good choice however be prepared to work 40 hours a week and sometimes more to get a job done. There are deadlines in this business, a lot of them so being able to handle stress is very important. The rewards though of seeing something be built that you helped design is nice.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, this is just a temporary position while I look for employment in another field. I studied other topics in college. This is a good career path though.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals is to attain employment doing something I absolutely love and that provides financial stability for my family.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Overall, this is a great career choice. If you like being creative and designing something for start to finish than this is a field to consider.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Technician1 yearn/aTroubleshoot and repair software and hardware issues.
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.