Phototech (Female, Age 24) in Lansing, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Phototech in Lansing, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePhototech
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week28
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLansing, MI
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A drug store. It is a world wide chain.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
to develop photos, enlarge photos, fix scratches on photos

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am under conpensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
occasionally. not to often do I work with others. when I do work with others I don’t really like it. I like working on my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
drug store. i don’t really like it because it can get really overwhelming at times.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGet theree. Turn photo machine on. Check chemicals. Make sure take is empty. Do all the tests with the machine. Log on to the register. Prepare for the store to open.
8am to 9amCheck people out, develop photos, help customers
9am to 10amCheck people out, develop photos, help customers
10am to 11amCheck people out, develop photos, help customers
11am to 12pm11:00 – 11:20 take lunch break then Check people out, develop photos, help customers
12pm to 1pmCheck people out, develop photos, help customers
1pm to 2pmCheck people out, develop photos, help customers
2pm to 3pmCheck people out, develop photos, help customers, at about 3 start to log off on register for other shift to start. empty chemical bin, finish what is left to do on my shift. go home at 3:15
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
walk-in at the location

What was the application process?
phone application, paper application, interview, training

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I have one interview, with one person. She asked lots of questions and made me feel real comfortable about working there.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why i want to work there. what is it about this place that made me choose to work here

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. I believe that they gave me the proper amount of training and allowed me to ask questions whenever I needed a answer for something. They were really cooperative and understanding.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there was a bunch of trainging for this. First I had to be trained on the cash register. I have to do this for a week with someone else and then I had to start doing in on my own. Then I had to be trained on the floor. I have to be trained to unload the truck and how to put items on the shelf. I had to betrained on how to fill the cooler. Then I had to be trained in the photo area.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not so much. I was not able to go onto college so the only education I had was from high school. Maybe the social part of it helped me deal with customers, and coworkers.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
This is not applicalbe. I did not do a internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
to apply at a store setting such as mine.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills is a must because you work with customers on a daily basis.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
learn to like the customers.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No not at all. Eventually I want to go back to school and get a degree in interior design. I have always wanted to do this and can’t wait until the day that I can.

What are your current career goals?
I want to go to school get a degree in interior design and someday own my own busines.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.