Optometrist (Female, Age 28) in ashton, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Optometrist in ashton, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOptometrist
Salary$100,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationashton, MD
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
self contracted

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
address the eye care needs of individuals through comprehensive eye examinations; conduct contact lenses consultations/fittings

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with patients in my office, and I also work with my staff in the main lobby area. This is the best part of my job! You meet all kinds of people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office, so I have my privacy. I can set up the room any way I prefer. I do not like the fact that there are no windows to our office.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 7
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amdrive to work (1hr), pick up coffee, check the day’s schedule, log into insurance network, greet staff, clean machines, set up equipment
10am to 11amsee first patient and run complete eye exam, answer any questions pertaining to frames, complete eye measurements for frame selected, submit insurance online for patient
11am to 12pmfax machine is not working, so trying to get it working again. Finish incomplete patient files from the day before
12pm to 1pmcomplete 2 eye exams with contacts fitting, answer any questions related to contacts, fit patient with contacts, have staff schedule follow-up session, assist in frame selection
1pm to 2pmlunch break
2pm to 3pmconduct 2 eye exams, fill out state drivers license renewal for one patient
3pm to 4pmrestock contact trials inventory, check mail
4pm to 5pmdo a followup contacts session for patient (from week before), explain do’s and don’t with contacts wear, have discussion with contact brand we’re recommending for patient, explain rebate with contacts order
5pm to 6pmconduct eye exam for family, fill out school screening forms for children
6pm to 7pmclean up office/machines, complete all patient records, re-file records, complete insurance submissions
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume, paper application, live interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
One interview with manager of optical.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why do you want this position, where have you worked before, what are you character strengths/weaknesses

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no employer

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
training = education/ school (undergrad + doctorate)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, for the technical aspect. The business aspect was learned through everyday experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Need to complete an undergraduate degree, then complete a doctorate. Study/prepare for the entrance/exit exams.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills – must be able to get along with people of all ages (infants, toddlers .. all the way up to seniors). Technical skills – must be comfortable running certain machines and collecting accurate information. Organization – must organize patient files, collect/submit patient insurance, stock inventory.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
You learn through experience

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is, and I hope to explore other options within my field one day, ex: missions overseas, group practice

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1optometrist2yrs100000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3BMCBA in biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.3ICOdoctor of OD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.