Mechanic (Male, Age 54) in Katy, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 54 who works as a Mechanic in Katy, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMechanic
Salary$36,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationKaty, TX
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Small remanufacturing shop for air starters 4 total employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
rebuild starters paint and do shipping

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical prescription insurance vacation sick days personel holidays

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Work with 3 other people and yes I enjoy it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Small shop with brak area main work section is airconditioned. plenty of room for working around people.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWashing parts Air drying parts
8am to 9amcontinuing to wash and airdry parts
9am to 10amSandblasting parts to take the old paint off and dirt and rust.
10am to 11amMeeting with all employees to go over the existing orders and requirements for compleeting
11am to 12pmsandblasting to take the old paint off and dirt and rust
12pm to 1pmrebuilding parts with new gaskets to make them rebuilt
1pm to 2pmlunch
2pm to 3pmpainting starters with airisol can
3pm to 4pmPackaged everything that is shipping to day and completed ups labels
4pm to 5pmassited ups loading shipments
5pm to 6pmhome prefer cash
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referrel

What was the application process?
Submitted application had interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes individual interview with the owner one time

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
do not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes but I worked as a mechanic all my life

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes but only OJT

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not realy

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just apply and put out the effort to learn

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Mechanical skills multi tasking skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Show up everyday on time work hard and learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
it is fine until SS

What are your current career goals?
Get ten years in and retire to social security

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Owner3 yrsN/AWorked on indivduals aircraft
Prior Job 2Inspector15 yrs35 HrInspected aircraft for safty of flight

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Weatherford JrBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.