Lead Medical Assistant (Female, Age 36) in Tucson, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 36 who works as a Lead Medical Assistant in Tucson, AZ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Lead Medical Assistant
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tucson, AZ
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Urgent Care facility with approx 25 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
In charge of clinical staff to ensure proper patient care and documentation.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
6.5 hours per pay period for vacation and sick time, Health and dental insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other coworkers and patients on a daily basis. This is one of the highlights of my job. I enjoy working with patients and helping them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Home
8am to 9am Home
9am to 10am Home
10am to 11am Home
11am to 12pm Arrive at work at 11:30 am I open the office, clean exam rooms, restock rooms, make sure all instruments are sterilized. Pull labs for charts and doctor review. Clinic opens at 12 noon
12pm to 1pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
1pm to 2pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
2pm to 3pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
3pm to 4pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
4pm to 5pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
5pm to 6pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
6pm to 7pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
7pm to 8pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
8pm to 9pm See patients. We see a variety of patients with a variety of problems.
9pm to 10pm Home
10pm to 11pm Home
11pm to 12am Home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Facility is in my community

What was the application process?
susbmitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes with the owner and practice manager. There was only one interview I was hired on the spot because of my work background and ethics.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The whole interview process was pretty simple. In fact the easiest one I have ever had. I was not really asked any specific questions except what location did I want to work at and what hours did I want. They were really impressed with my resume.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No. I have been a medical assistant and in a managerial positon for over 10 years. I knew what was expected of the job when I came to this job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had excellent teachers throughout my training.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not really I did my externship with an occupational health clinic and have worked family practice since then.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Enjoy helping people.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills is a must. One needs to be patient and able to communicate with sick patients. Organizational skills is a must in order to not make errors.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes. A technical school designed for medial assistant training is needed.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be organized, patient, and communicate with patients and coworkers.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I am not sure why not.

What are your current career goals?
I am planning on going to school for radiology tech. I would like to get into nuclear radiology.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love the medical field. It is a field that will always be needed and people will always need you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Practice Manager 3 yrs 20.00 per hr Supervised a staff of 10 between 2 clinics with 3 physicians and 1 nurse practioner.
Prior Job 2 Site Coordinator 5 yrs 12.50 per hr Supervised a clinic of 10 employees with 3 physicians.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Pima Medical Institute Medical Assistant certificate
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.