Case Manager (Female, Age 33) in Port Arthur, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Case Manager in Port Arthur, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCase Manager
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPort Arthur, TX
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Our company is pretty small office case managing disaster related clients. 5 case managers on contract. Faith based non profit organiztion.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Case managing clients affected by disaster. Referring resources to clients for whatever needs it may be due to disaster.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, sick leave, and health insurance paid

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, we go over our cases with others to ensure we are providing the best for our clients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work at the office but also outside the office. I just dislike traveling because I was assigned to another county which is about 20-30 min drive and I don’t like driving over the big bridge.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amWork starts at 8. Usually I go over my unfinished files from the previous day.
9am to 10amMeetings every Friday morning.
10am to 11amCheck each files to make sure they’re all filled in. Contact clients if needed. Transfer file to another dept to be put in system.
11am to 12pmUpdate files in system. Everything has to match from file to system.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmDo weekly reports and emailed to supervisor.
2pm to 3pmCall clients to schedule appointments if any. And work on old files. They usually take about an hour or so to go over files then takes about another hour to input into system. We have about 35 files to keep up with so sometimes it takes about a week to get almost all of it done.
3pm to 4pmPick up kids from school. Look for assistance for clients with whatever help they still need. Update clients with resources.
4pm to 5pmFinish up work. Leave at 5.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had an interview with 2 different supervisors. It was challenging with the questions they asked. Just have to prove that you are the right one.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can’t really remember….

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. We had to go to several training workshops and training in the field.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes there were several trainings.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No but I do think its important.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Definitely training. Alot of social skills.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Alot of social skills and organization skills. Dealing with alot of different types of clients and work entails alot of paperwork.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To get some training and that they have to love the work they will be doing.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Maybe but its contract only. I do look forward in helping more people in the future if there is a chance.

What are your current career goals?
I would love to get more training and need some type of degree. You can never get enough. Social skills especially, its needed in alot of fields. I like to help people but resources are needed. Also want to look into technical field because I love to repair things and make it work again. Its challenging.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
The field I’m currently in is temporary for our area. A disaster could hit at hurricane season each year so if it does then we have some work if not then there’s really not any work left.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1customer service rep2 yrs11 an hrassist customers with problems with cable phone or internet service, their bills, and cable service.
Prior Job 2salon5500 wkassist customers with different types of nail acrylics, pedicures and manicures. handle appointments and payment transactions.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)