(Male, Age 31) from Tallahassee, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Auditor in Tallahassee, FL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Auditor
Salary $32,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tallahassee, FL
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for the Florida Department of Revenue. We are a state wide organization that issues refunds for taxes paid due to exemptions and other issues.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I audit refund requests to determine elegibility accourding to Florida Statute.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Family health insurance and retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Very much UNDER compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with others every day. I typically enjoy working with others unless I need to actually get some work done.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
What goes here? Probably something to do with co-workers. They are OK, but some can be annoying (they complain a lot!). I would rather work alone I guess.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Woke up. Showered. Ate breakfast. Got in car. Drove to work.
8am to 9am Arrived at work. Checked email, returned phone calls.
9am to 10am Still returning phone calls. Begin processing files (can’t give you much more detail than that).
10am to 11am Took phone calls and worked more files.
11am to 12pm went to lunch.
12pm to 1pm Worked files and responded to emails.
1pm to 2pm More files (starting to get the picture?).
2pm to 3pm Took 15 min break. Worked more.
3pm to 4pm At 4pm started to shut down (saving documents etc.)
4pm to 5pm Left at 5pm.
5pm to 6pm Drove home.
6pm to 7pm Cooked and ate dinner.
7pm to 8pm Went to the gym (and worked out).
8pm to 9pm Showered, shaved…you know the rest.
9pm to 10pm Watched Heroes. It was pretty good, but a little slow for a season opener.
10pm to 11pm Watched Journeyman. This was a suprise to me, but I really liked it. I expected just a clone of Quantom Leap, right? But it was very well written and had some good acting too.
11pm to 12am Watched food network and cartoon network (futurama and family guy) untill I fell asleep.

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Electronic application and a test later.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one interview by three people at the same time (it wasn’t as much fun as it sounds).

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are your weaknesses, strengths, and questions about working with others (wow, I should have answered that one differently).

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was as prepared as I could have been.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
3 weeks of me sitting in a cubicle reading handbooks. Then I got a certificate.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was very over educated for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not at all.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get your Assc. degree, then work here while you get your bach. degree. Next, get a good job at a CPA firm.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You should have patient: you will need this if you are going into government work and you are in possession of more than one brain cell. Other than that, if you made it through high school (or did really well in grade school) you should be fine.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Can you stay in the lines when coloring?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Apply for as many new possitions as possible (you get at least a 10% raise each time you change possition, which is the only way you will get a raise).

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to move up and retire with one million dollors.

What are your current career goals?
Increase my money by getting paid more.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Auditors (about 60%)are overworked and underpaid. If the legislators would listen to me the state would save millions, but I guess that is not enough. Do not go into this feild if you are the kind of person who like to solve problems, because they don’t like that here.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Manager 20 years 37000 Manager. I did everthing from wash dishes to cook and perform payroll duties.
Prior Job 2 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 VSU Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.