Nurse Practictioner (Female, Age 29) in Riverside, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Nurse Practictioner in Riverside, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNurse Practictioner
Salary$108,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRiverside, CT
Years Experience2.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Work in healthcare – large academic health system.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patient care, Clinical research, Student instruction

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
28 days PTO, POS health insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
on low end of well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I must work with others on daily basis. Some days I like it, some days I don’t. While it is an essential part of my job function, there are certainly days when I get irritated and do not want to have to deal with others (they’re slowing me down, annoying me, etc).

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in multiple locations, but primarily in a clinical patient care setting.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWork day not started.
8am to 9amJust arriving at work. Start up office – booted computer, turned on all equipment, checked/responded to work email.
9am to 10amDirect patient care – scheduled appointments. Routine care- history taking, physical exams, diagnosis, counseling. Involved prescription writing and computer based documentation.
10am to 11amContinued direct patient care – scheduled appointments. Similar tasks- history taking, counseling, prescription writing, and documentation. Required collaboration with coworkers on flow of the day.
11am to 12pmContinued direct patient care as above. Of note here, manager came around at this time, had 10 minute conversation with her regarding upcoming scheduling and tasks to be completed.
12pm to 1pmCaught up on paperwork from the morning’s appointments, brief lunch, talked with coworkers as working.
1pm to 2pmResumption of direct patient care as above. Add-ons into schedule. This required greater time management on my end as now had less time to spend with each patient. Felt rushed to keep up with the demand.
2pm to 3pmContinued patient care. Still running behind formal schedule. Annoyed by coworker who seemed to be repeatedly slowing me down (slow to bring patients back, slow to bring medications, complete documentation).
3pm to 4pmLast of scheduled appointments. Routine care- history taking, physical exams, diagnosis, counseling. Rush from before over.
4pm to 5pmFinished up days’ documentation/other paperwork. Submitted bills for days visits and services. Returned work phone calls and emails.
5pm to 6pmClosed down office – turned off all equipment, computer. Left for day at 5:30.
6pm to 7pmNo longer working as of 5:30.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, multiple rounds of individual interviews. First with HR and then with department I work for.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions were primarily directed at my prior experience/training and what I sought to get out of the position.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was given an adequate training period. The on-boarding process was thorough and well managed.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, Master’s degree/formal education in Nurse Practitioner program. Involved both classroom and clinical instruction.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my master’s education provided me with both the knowledge and skill to practice upon graduation.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, the hands-on learning/experience of my clinical rotations prepared me well to practice in the “real” world.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Work hard, study hard, be dedicated. It took a lot of schooling and perseverance to get where I am today!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are absolutely necessary – position requires interaction with both the public and coworkers. Important to be personable, approachable, friendly.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, both by law and necessity.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
To use their resources, ask questions, keep learning. I would reassure them that they will eventually find their comfort zone!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. Working in a setting I enjoy.

What are your current career goals?
Not entirely sure… to continue clinical practice/patient care, that much I’m sure of.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Registered Nurse3 years62000hospital based inpatient care
Prior Job 2Medical School1.5 years35000assisted with clinical research project, administrative and patient care duties

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Duke UniversityBachelor of Science in Nursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4University of PennsylvaniaMaster of Science in Nursing

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.