Home Health Aide (Female, Age 48) in linwood, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Home Health Aide in linwood, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHome Health Aide
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlinwood, PA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
don’t know how many employees, we are a home health care organization. we go into the home and help elderly or disabled people with all activities of daily life. we do everything from housework, cooking, bathing, toileting, drive to appointments or for errands, anything you can think of that someone might need.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
prepare meals, run errands, help bathe, dress, toilet, clean house,help in and out of bed, chair, etc

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation, personal time, medical insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average compensation

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i work with my clients every day. i like the fact that i can get to know them and meet their families

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work in the clients home, primarily. i like the fact that we help our clients stay in their home, not in a long term care facility

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amenter home, give meds, prepare breakfast
10am to 11amhelp shower or bathe, toilet, dress–watch tv with client or whatever they want to do, maybe run errands, do housework, plan for dinner
11am to 12pmwatch tv with client or whatever they want to do, run errands, do housework
12pm to 1pmwatch tv with client or whatever they want to do, run errands, do housework, prepare lunch and snacks
1pm to 2pmno work
2pm to 3pmno work
3pm to 4pmno work
4pm to 5pmno work
5pm to 6pmenter home, give meds, start dinner, watch tv with client or whatever they want to do, go over mail with client
6pm to 7pmserve dinner,toilet client, dress for bed, help into bed, leave snacks, bedtime meds. leave at 7
7pm to 8pmno work
8pm to 9pm830-enter another client’s home, toilet and dress for bed. fold clothes from dryer, straighten up kitchen if needed.
9pm to 10pmwatch tv with client
10pm to 11pmgive meds, take to bathroom, toilet, help with washing up and brushing teeth, help into bed. take out trash. leave at 1030
11pm to 12amno work

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
answered a newspaper ad

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
had one individual interview, went over job history and qualifications

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
went over job history, asked if had transportation, went over qualifications

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, i knew what the job intailed. had 10 yrs experience in the long term care

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
certified as a nurse aide in 1995. lapsed after 3 yrs absence from the field. still had the experience though

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
only have a high school diploma, but nurse aide training covered everything i needed to know

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
i would recommend that they get certified as a nurse aide and get some experience in the field of long term care. that will teach them everything that they need to know

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
should be able to communicate with the elderly especially, but also disabled people. need to know how to let them do for themselves but know when to step in and offer help. must be able to work independently, be able to get along with all kinds of people. be able to take direction from the client, their families, and their immediate supervisors.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
should be able to be certified as a nurse aide, will give all the necessary skills

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
just be friendly and do what you are supposed to do

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
sure, i like taking care of people. would like to go into nursing, but am waiting until last child is out of high school. 3 years

What are your current career goals?
to go to nursing school

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
wish i had gone to nursing school right out of high school

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1nurse aide5 yrsdktook care of elderly in a facility
Prior Job 2nurse aide5 yrsdktook care of elderly in a facility

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.