Customer Service Clerk (Male, Age 19) in apollo, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 19 who works as a Customer Service Clerk in apollo, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service Clerk
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationapollo, PA
Years Experience2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It’s a grocery store, with probly around 150 employees. We have four branches in the Pittsburgh area.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Customer issues, returns, getting daily jobs and duties complete(cleaning the store up at the end of the night), making sure cashiers and baggers get their breaks, recording daily totals

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i like working with others, because it helps me keep good people skills and also helps me have good social skills and management/business skills

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
the front end of a grocery store, big counter/desk with a register and lottery stuff all over it

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 9
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStill Sleeping
8am to 9amStill Sleeping
9am to 10amI woke up at 10am, got my clothes all ready, and went down and took a shower, shaved and all before going to work.
10am to 11amDrove to work at 10:30, got there around 10:50. Went inside, greeted my coworkers and some familiar customers.
11am to 12pmPunched in at 11, and went up front, put my apron on and looked over the employee daily schedule to see who I would be working with. Sold a few lottery tickets, and a few packs of cigarettes.
12pm to 1pmWas getting kind of busy now, had more people open up their registers to get these lines down, previously I had people bagging or checking up on the food court(little cafeteria we have) to get ti cleaned up. Sent a cashier on break at 11 for a half hour break. When she got back, she went in for the next one and so on.
1pm to 2pmStill was kinda busy, had all available cashiers opened up.
2pm to 3pmI’m done with work at 3, punched out, picked up some vegetables and etc for my dad and mom, and drove home at approximately 3:08, got home at 3:30.
3pm to 4pmAt home at 3:30, watching tv, don’t have homework or anything, school’s out for the summer, though I signed up for Spanish 3 this summer, gonna get done and get my 4 credits.
4pm to 5pmDinner time, ate round steaks and mashed potatoes, sat around the table with the family.
5pm to 6pmWatching tv, watchin the Simpson’s on FOX.
6pm to 7pmWatching Family Guy on TBS
7pm to 8pmWatching Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring
8pm to 9pmLOTR
9pm to 10pmLOTR
10pm to 11pmI’m going to bed now
11pm to 12amSleeping

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my dad knew the manager and got me the job

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I met with the front end manager once, she’s in charge of us people who work up front. She basically asked me what hours I could work, where I’d worked before if anywhere and all

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what can you work? How many hours you willing? etc

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I work there now and I get 30 hours or so and they call me in when people call off all the time, because they trust me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I had to be trained how to use the different machines, the money order machine, the cash register, the lotto machine. had to learn the store policies, such as policies on returns, policy on breaks and all.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
a little bit. My math skills and all

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not applicable

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
start as a cashier like i did and work your way up

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good people skills, good math skills, willingness to take orders and give orders, willingness to do work, desire to improve yourself

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, you need to be able to read and add and subtract and all that and you need logic

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be prepared for asshole customers and be able to hold your temper and all, some people i think sometimes do all they can to push your buttons

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes and no, yes because im making money to pay for college for my future and no because I don’t want to do this all my life

What are your current career goals?
Graduate college majoring in Information Systems Technology and work as a Network Administrator or a Database Administrator

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not really

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Front End Clerk2 years6.95Customer issues, returns, getting daily jobs and duties complete(cleaning the store up at the end of the night), making sure cashiers and baggers get their breaks, recording daily totals
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.9Penn State UniversityInformation Technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.