Assistant To Account Manager 

(Female, Age 21) from Austin, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Assistant To Account Manager in Austin, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant To Account Manager
Salary $26,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Austin, NY
Years Experience 2 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It is a small private insurance agency with around 25 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Process renewals, endorsements, certificates, state certificate filing, cancellations, renewals, and general customer service.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
16 days vacation, HSA health insurance, Dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis, working directly under my boss. I like working with my boss, but I do not like the other people who I do not directly work with but who just work in my same office. I find them to be unmotivated and not very hard workers.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I like working in an office environment so that I can concentrate on my own work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am Arrive at work, Sign on to computer, Check emails. Check cancellations to see if any payments were received since previous day. Make sure I have no voicemails.
9am to 10am Fax certificate requested by insured to a client. Enter reinstatements from finance company for insureds. Print out general liability policies received from insurance company for renewal of insureds insurance.
10am to 11am Process renewal policies, check to make sure they have all the required and correct coverage. Check to make sure they have all the same endorsements and have the same premiums. Mail a copy of the checked policies to insureds.
11am to 12pm Called 3 insureds regarding Cancellation notices received from finance company. Ask them if they are aware they are cancelled and give them the information that they need to contact the finance company to make a payment so that they will be reinstated. Enter activity in computer for phone calls made.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Issue certificates received from insureds to clients. Emailed certificates to insured and client. Check endorsements on policy to see if it satisfies requests on a certificate. See if we can issue certificate with the wording requested. Email insurance company regarding certificate and ask to add endorsements to satisfy the contract.
2pm to 3pm Call insured regarding certificate and tell them amount of endorsements and notify them that we will need payment and signed agreement for endorsements before we can proceed with issuing certificate. Receive phone call from customer who needs to make a payment to finance company. Take payment over the phone and enter e-check online on finance company website.
3pm to 4pm Enter renewal of policy. Renew application in computer system and bill premium. Type and submit renewal certificate to Texas Private Security Board for insured. Mail copy of certificate issued to client. Enter activity in computer for certificate issued and enter activity to remain open until renewal policy is received from insurance company and a copy is issued to the insured.
4pm to 5pm Type renewal paperwork for insured. Gather all necessary paperwork and prepare to mail to insured. Make copy of completed paperwork to put in file for our records and then mail paperwork to insured to be signed and returned with down payment for renewal of policy.
5pm to 6pm N/A
6pm to 7pm N/A
7pm to 8pm N/A
8pm to 9pm N/A
9pm to 10pm N/A
10pm to 11pm N/A
11pm to 12am N/A

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referred by my mother.

What was the application process?
Submit resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, I was promoted from my previous position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Salary, if I felt I was capable of handling the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was taught all the basic procedures that I needed to perform my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained by the previous person who held my position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I never had any previous experience in the insurance industry.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have some experience in the insurance industry and some customer service experience. An insurance license would be helpful but not required.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Very good organizational skills and be somewhat tech savvy. You would be dealing with a lot of paperwork and having to work on computers, so these two skills are vital.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some financial knowledge would be helpful, but not specific training is required.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Try to get a job as a receptionist at an insurance agency and then try to work your way up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I plan on quitting my current employer to go back to school as soon as my husband graduates from college and finds a job.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to get a degree in Video Game programming or Computer Science and get a job a programmer at a video game company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I greatly enjoy my job, I just wish it was more challenging.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 File/Data Clerk 8 months 7.50 an hour File, sort, and scan paperwork.
Prior Job 2 Receptionist 6 months 10.00 an hour Answer phones, sort mail, assist customers, manage till.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Austin Community College General Studies
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.